BGE-102 dosage and evidence
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
BGE-102 is BioAge's daily pill that blocks NLRP3, a trigger of long-term inflammation. In an early study, a blood marker of inflammation, hsCRP, fell by a median 86 percent in two weeks.
Evidence grade for BGE-102: Limited. The rule: people have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. The sum on this page: 1 completed trial, none stating how many people. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.
- People given it
- 0
- Human studies
- 1
- Found nothing
- 0
Dose
No human dose established
Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.
1 completed trial, 0 people given it
2 effects reported, 1 unwanted, 1 wanted, by people using it, not a trial
In plain English
In plain English, from Aaron
This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.
BGE-102 is a daily pill from BioAge. It blocks NLRP3, a switch that drives long-term inflammation. That kind of inflammation builds up with age. It is at an early stage and not approved.
What people take it for
- Lowering long-term inflammation.
- Lower heart risk.
- Slowing ageing.
What studies in people showed
In an early study, adults with obesity and raised inflammation took 120 mg a day. By day 14, hsCRP, a blood test for inflammation, had fallen by a median 86 percent. Side effects were mild to moderate. That was a safety study. A blood marker falling is not the same as feeling or living better. Mid-stage studies are planned.
What people report
Reports, not study results
The good
- In the study on this page, an inflammation blood marker fell steeply in two weeks.
The bad
- Side effects were mild to moderate in the study on this page.
Where these come from: Both lines are from the company releases on this page. We have not collected forum or user reports for this drug yet.
My bottom line
This pill is two weeks of data. Get hsCRP checked on your next blood test, and work on it with your doctor.
An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.
What it has been measured to do
Nothing indexed yet
The 2 citations on this page do not report a result for any of the 36 goals indexed here. Most of what sits here is something else: a listing of a planned study, a study of how the body handles the drug, a safety report or a government record. None of those tests whether it works.
Show full evidence
What is BGE-102?
BGE-102 is BioAge's daily pill that blocks NLRP3, a trigger of long-term inflammation. In an early study, a blood marker of inflammation, hsCRP, fell by a median 86 percent in two weeks.
NLRP3 is a switch inside cells that drives much of the low-level inflammation that builds up with age. In an early study reported in April 2026, adults with obesity and raised inflammation took 120 mg of BGE-102 a day. By day 14, hsCRP, a standard blood test for inflammation, had fallen by a median 86 percent. Side effects were mild to moderate. BioAge planned a mid-stage study in people at risk of heart disease, and a study in a diabetic eye condition, in 2026. The company's last lead drug, azelaprag, was stopped in 2024 because of liver harm.
How does BGE-102 work?
It is a small molecule that blocks the NLRP3 switch. That stops the release of IL-1 beta, a strong inflammation signal.
The evidence, in charts
Fig. 1a · how many people
2studies in people cited, but none says how many people took part
number of people not stated
We do not draw a total, because none of the studies in people on this page gives one. Read the sources below for what each study measured.
We read the number of people from the source lines on this page. Where a line gives no number, we count nothing for it. We do not guess.
Fig. 1b · evidence mix
All 2 sources here are studies in people.
- Study in people · done in people2100%
Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.
Fig. 2 · evidence over time
Every source here was published in 2026.
Too few different years on this page to draw a timeline.
Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance
US
Not approved
UK
Not approved
AU
Not approved
CA
Not approved
Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.
Fig. 4 · how much does what
Nobody has tested different amounts in people
This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.
Fig. 5 · what the molecule is
- Kind of compound
- Small molecule
- Molecule weight
- Not disclosed
- Half-life
- Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
- Chain length
- None on file
No amino acid sequence is on file for BGE-102, which is expected: a small molecule is not built from amino acids.
The studies we cite
- Study in people2026BioAge reports positive Phase 1 data for BGE-102
An inflammation marker in the blood dropped steeply within two weeks. Adults with obesity and raised inflammation took 120 mg of BGE-102 daily, and their hsCRP, a standard blood measure of inflammation, fell by about 86% at the midpoint of the group. Side effects were mild to moderate. Here is the limit. This was a first-stage safety study, and a blood marker moving is not the same as anyone feeling or living better. BioAge's previous lead drug was stopped for liver damage.
Median 86% reduction in hsCRP at day 14 on 120 mg.
- Study in people2026BioAge announces indication expansion for BGE-102
Nothing has been published from these programs. BioAge said it would take BGE-102 into mid-stage trials in people at risk of heart disease and in a diabetic eye condition. Announcing more trials is a statement of intent, not a result. The only human data on this drug remain the two-week blood marker figures from the first-stage study.
Phase 2 programs in cardiovascular risk and eye disease.
Common questions
Has BGE-102 been tested in people?
Yes. 0 people given it across 1 completed trial cited here, 0 of which found nothing. BGE-102 is BioAge's daily pill that blocks NLRP3, a trigger of long-term inflammation. In an early study, a blood marker of inflammation, hsCRP, fell by a median 86 percent in two weeks.
What is the BGE-102 dosage?
No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 1 completed trial, 0 people given it
Is BGE-102 FDA-approved?
Investigational; in early to mid-stage studies
Is BGE-102 an anti-aging drug?
It targets one cause of ageing, long-term inflammation. But it is being made for specific diseases. No study measures lifespan or healthy years directly.