Skip to content

Survodutide dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Strong. At least two finished studies in people, and at least 1,000 people who took it. 5 completed trials, 2,034 people given it.7 reported

The short answer

Survodutide is a weekly shot still being tested. It works on two signals, GLP-1 and glucagon, and is studied for obesity and fatty liver disease.

Evidence grade for Survodutide: Strong. The rule: at least two finished studies in people, and at least 1,000 people who took it. The sum on this page: 5 completed trials, 2,034 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
2,034
Human studies
5
Found nothing
0

Dose

Doses used in trials

0.6, 2.4, 3.6, 4.8 and 6 mg

Doses used in the survodutide trials, in mg. Not an approved ladder.

7 effects reported, 4 unwanted, 3 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

Goal pages: Fat loss and metabolism, Gut health

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

Survodutide is a once a week shot that turns down hunger and burns fat in the liver. It works on the Ozempic hunger signal plus a second one, glucagon, that tells your liver to burn fat. That is why it is being tested for fatty liver disease as much as for weight. It is not approved. Anything sold online as survodutide is not the drug from the trials.

What people take it for

  • Getting fat out of the liver.
  • Weight loss with a fat burning effect, not just less hunger.
  • Reversing early liver scarring.
  • A cheaper grey market option than Mounjaro.

What studies in people showed

In the weight trial, 387 adults without diabetes took it for 46 weeks. On the top dose they lost 14.9 percent of their body weight. The dummy shot group lost 2.8 percent. Stomach side effects were common. In the liver disease trial, 293 adults with liver damage proven by biopsy took it for 48 weeks. Between 47 and 62 percent got better on biopsy without their scarring getting worse. On the dummy shot, 14 percent did. In the large final stage liver fat trial, 216 adults took it for 48 weeks. On 6 mg, 84 percent cut their liver fat by at least 30 percent. On the dummy shot, 24 percent did. Weight fell 12.2 percent against 1.0 percent. The liver numbers are the strongest thing about this drug. The weight loss is real too.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • Liver enzymes coming down on the next blood test.
  • Steady weight loss with hunger turned down.
  • Feeling warmer and burning through food faster, which people put down to the glucagon side.

The bad

  • Nausea and vomiting, more than on Ozempic for many people. The glucagon side is rough on the stomach.
  • A racing heart or a higher resting heart rate.
  • Tiredness and feeling wiped out at dose jumps.
  • Grey market vials with no way to check the dose.

Where these come from: The weight and liver numbers are from the early obesity trial, the early fatty liver disease trial, the large final stage SYNCHRONIZE-MASLD trial and their side effect tables. The real world reports are from grey market users on r/peptides, r/PeptidesUK and r/Retatrutide. They are not trial results and they are not the trial drug.

My bottom line

For the liver, this is the most interesting drug in the family, and I will be watching for the approval. But it is not approved, and what is sold online is not the thing in these trials. I would not put a grey market vial of it in my body.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Measured in people

Goals Survodutide has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.

33 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Survodutide

No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove Survodutide does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about Survodutide and one of these did not come from a study cited here.

Show full evidence

What is Survodutide?

Survodutide is a weekly shot still being tested. It works on two signals, GLP-1 and glucagon, and is studied for obesity and fatty liver disease.

Survodutide is a weekly shot that is not approved yet. It works on two signals, GLP-1 and glucagon. It is being built for obesity and for MASH, a fatty liver disease where the liver becomes inflamed. The GLP-1 part turns down appetite and helps blood sugar. The glucagon part adds more energy burning and acts on the liver.

In a large final-stage study of 216 adults with obesity and a fatty liver, 84% on the drug cut their liver fat by at least 30%, against 24% on a dummy shot. Weight fell 12.2% on the drug and 1.0% on the dummy over 48 weeks. In a mid-sized study of 387 adults without diabetes, the top dose cut weight by 14.9%, against 2.8% on the dummy. In 293 adults with MASH, liver damage got better without more scarring in 47 to 62% on the drug, against 14% on the dummy.

How does Survodutide work?

It switches on both the GLP-1 and glucagon receptors. That turns down appetite, helps the body handle sugar, burns more energy and cuts fat in the liver.

What have studies in people found about Survodutide?

Survodutide has a large, standard drug company record in people. Boehringer Ingelheim runs a registered set of final-stage trials. They include published mid-stage dose studies and a 725-person final-stage obesity trial reported in 2026. A 5,531-person heart safety trial finished in June 2026 with no results posted. Liver trials run to 2031. It is not approved anywhere.

  • Obesity: 725 adults with obesity and no diabetes got weekly shots raised to 3.6 mg or 6.0 mg, or a dummy shot, for 76 weeks. Their average age was 47.1, average body mass index 37.9 and average weight 108.8 kg. Weight fell 12.2% on 3.6 mg, 13.0% on 6.0 mg and 5.4% on the dummy. At least 5% was lost by 72.6%, 71.9% and 46.3%. Stomach and gut side effects hit 80.9%, 89.7% and 47.9%. Nobody died.
  • Type 2 diabetes, against semaglutide: 413 people on metformin got one of six survodutide doses, semaglutide raised to 1.0 mg weekly, or a dummy shot, for 16 weeks. Everyone knew who got semaglutide. Three-month average blood sugar fell 1.46 points on the second survodutide dose and 1.47 on semaglutide. Weight fell up to 8.7% on the top survodutide dose, against 5.3% on semaglutide. Side effects hit 77.8% on survodutide, 52.0% on semaglutide and 52.5% on the dummy.
  • Mid-stage obesity dose study (already cited): 387 adults without diabetes lost 14.9% on 4.8 mg weekly at 46 weeks, against 2.8% on a dummy shot.
  • Fatty liver with inflammation, confirmed by a liver sample (already cited): 293 adults. The liver improved without the scarring getting worse in 47% to 62% on the drug, against 14% on a dummy, over 48 weeks.
  • Fatty liver (already cited): 216 adults. 84% on the drug cut liver fat by at least 30%, against 24% on a dummy. Weight fell 12.2% against 1.0% at 48 weeks.
  • Finished but not reported: a heart safety trial in 5,531 people (NCT06077864) that closed on 30 June 2026 with no results posted, and a type 2 diabetes trial in 755 people (NCT06066528).
  • Still running: two liver trials, one in 1,800 people with inflamed fatty liver (NCT06632444) and one in 1,590 people with cirrhosis (NCT06632457). Both are due to finish in December 2031.

What this does not tell you: The longest finished trial ran 76 weeks. So nothing here tells you about years of use or what happens after stopping. The obesity trials left out people with diabetes, and the diabetes trials required it. The two groups do not overlap, so their results should not be lumped together. The semaglutide comparison ran only 16 weeks and everyone knew who got semaglutide. That is too short and too open to settle which is better. Stomach and gut side effects hit 89.7% at the higher dose. A headline weight number says nothing about who could handle raising the dose. The heart safety trial will show whether the glucagon half of this molecule carries a cost, and it has not reported.

The state of the research

Survodutide is what the rest of this site is missing, and the difference is ownership. Boehringer Ingelheim and Zealand Pharma own it. So the trials are large, planned in advance, registered before they start, and reported whether the answer is welcome or not. That is why this page can give exact results and side effect rates. A page for an unpatentable peptide with the same kind of story has only animal work to quote. The question is not which molecule is more promising. It is which one somebody can own the answer to.

The price of that is that every number here comes from the company. Boehringer designed, paid for, analysed and co-wrote all of it. The same university names show up across trials. This is the normal way drugs get developed, and it is not a scandal. But it means no independent group has repeated any survodutide result. You are trusting a regulated process, not a second research team.

The live science question is whether adding the glucagon receptor to GLP-1 buys anything over GLP-1 alone. Switching on glucagon burns more energy and works on the liver. That is the case for the design, and it fits the liver results. It also raises blood sugar, which is why drugs like this have been hard to get right. In the diabetes comparison, where everyone knew who got semaglutide, blood sugar fell the same on both drugs. Survodutide gave more weight loss and a lot more side effects. Nobody has run a head-to-head where people did not know which drug they got. The heart safety trial has not reported. Until both exist, the two-receptor advantage is a reasonable idea with supportive dose data behind it, not a settled fact.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

2,034people, across 5 studies in people cited here

02,034 people
How many people: 2,034 people across 5 cited studies in people, drawn as one bar split into one block per study. The largest study holds 725 of them, 36 percent of the total.
People in each cited study in people
StudyPeopleShare
SYNCHRONIZE-1, New England Journal of Medicine 202672536%
Diabetologia 202441320%
The Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology 202438719%
New England Journal of Medicine 202429314%
Nature Medicine 202621611%

Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. 2 more studies in people give no headcount and are not counted here. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

All 7 sources here are studies in people.

07 sources
  • Study in people · done in people7100%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

Sources here come from just two years, 2024 and 2026.

Too few different years on this page to draw a timeline.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Peptide
Molecule weight
~4,900 Da
Half-life
About 6 daysLong, 1 to 7 days
Chain length
None on file

No amino acid sequence is on file for Survodutide, so none is drawn rather than guessed from a name.

The studies we cite

Where to buy Survodutide

33 sellers list Survodutide in our latest read. They are ranked by trust score, then by archive rating, then by certificate tier, then by the lowest price per milligram. Archive evidence is counted before source-backed. Each path is out of 4, and the two are not added. A higher price does not raise the score. The letter is the certificate chip. 0 of them have a published certificate that names Survodutide.

Some seller links may pay this site when you buy through them. A payment never changes a seller's tier or rank, and no seller has a say in any page.

SellerTrust scoreVial sizesFrom, per mgCertificate for SurvodutideSeller link
Alpha Peptides
80 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$7.39None found for SurvodutideView
National Science Labs
80 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
5 mg, 10 mg$18.2None found for SurvodutideView
Nationwide Peptides
80 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$18.2None found for SurvodutideView
Eros Peptides
80 StrongSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$7.50None found for SurvodutideView
EZ Peptides
75 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 3 of 4.A
10 mg$7.80None found for SurvodutideView
General Peptides
73 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$18.2None found for SurvodutideView
Bulk Peptide Supply
65 FairSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg, 100 mg$2.75None found for SurvodutideView
Supernova Sciences
65 FairSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$13.0None found for SurvodutideView
Plum Labs Research
62 FairSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$10.8None found for SurvodutideView
Omega Peps
57 FairSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.B
10 mg$16.5None found for SurvodutideView
Zenergy USA
49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
10 mg$5.50None found for SurvodutideView
Liberty Peptides
49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A
5 mg$14.0None found for SurvodutideView
Apexlab
49 WeakSource-backed 2 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.B
10 mg$33.3None found for SurvodutideView
Pure Peptide Factory
48 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$10.0None found for SurvodutideView
Solution Peptides
48 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.C
12 mg$8.33None found for SurvodutideView
Pryma Lab
43 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.C
10 mg$5.90None found for SurvodutideView
Peptides.com
42 WeakSource-backed 2 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.B
12 mg$12.0None found for SurvodutideView
Peptides Lab UAE
40 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$21.4None found for SurvodutideView
Better Nak'd Aminos
38 WeakSource-backed 2 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.B
10 mg$18.4None found for SurvodutideView
Limitless Biotech ST
36 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$18.2None found for SurvodutideView
Paramount Peptides
33 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.C
6 mg$37.5None found for SurvodutideView
LabRat Peptides
28 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg, 20 mg$6.45None found for SurvodutideView
Boston Molecules
28 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$81.0None found for SurvodutideView
Profound Aminos
25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg, 12 mg$7.00None found for SurvodutideView
Elite Fitness Peptides
25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$28.2None found for SurvodutideView
Ascend Peptides
25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C
10 mg$31.2None found for SurvodutideView
Bulk Peptide Wholesale
23 InsufficientSource-backed 2 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.B
100 mg$2.25None found for SurvodutideView
RUO
18 InsufficientSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.Letter withheld
10 mg$9.80None found for SurvodutideView
Tydes
15 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.Letter withheld
6 mg$13.3None found for SurvodutideView
Polaris Peptides
15 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.Letter withheld
5 mg$15.0None found for SurvodutideView
Glacier Aminos
12 InsufficientSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.Letter withheld
10 mg$6.50None found for SurvodutideView
Skye Peptides
0 InsufficientSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.Letter withheld
6 mg, 12 mg$12.4None found for SurvodutideView
Biostrategix
0 InsufficientSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 0 of 4.Letter withheld
12 mg$5.83None found for SurvodutideView
  • LC Lab-confirmed: the issuing laboratory echoed this certificate back
  • A Current certificate, independent laboratory named, laboratory not yet checked
  • B Certificate published, but no laboratory link, older than a year, or the laboratory did not recognise the published lookup
  • C No certificate could be read

Every listing and vial size for Survodutide · How the trust score is counted

Sellers named on the price pages are ranked by certificate tier, then price, and any affiliate income is disclosed there. Naming a seller is not a recommendation to buy or use anything.

Common questions

Has Survodutide been tested in people?

Yes. 2,034 people given it across 5 completed trials cited here, 0 of which found nothing. Survodutide is a weekly shot still being tested. It works on two signals, GLP-1 and glucagon, and is studied for obesity and fatty liver disease.

What is the Survodutide dosage?

Doses used in trials. 0.6, 2.4, 3.6, 4.8 and 6 mg Doses used in the survodutide trials, in mg. Not an approved ladder.

Is Survodutide FDA-approved?

Investigational, not FDA-approved

How is survodutide different from tirzepatide?

Both work on two signals. Survodutide works on GLP-1 and glucagon. Tirzepatide works on GLP-1 and GIP. The glucagon part is being studied mainly for liver fat.

Compare Survodutide with

Related compounds