Zoledronic acid dosage and evidence
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
Zoledronic acid is an approved once-a-year bone drip with an odd, unexplained link to fewer deaths.
Evidence grade for Zoledronic acid: Strong. The rule: at least two finished studies in people, and at least 1,000 people who took it. The sum on this page: 4 completed trials, 7,176 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.
- People given it
- 7,176
- Human studies
- 4
- Found nothing
- 0
Dose
Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses
Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.
FDA-approved. Sold as Reclast for thin bones (osteoporosis) in women after menopause and in men, for thin bones caused by steroid drugs, and for Paget disease of bone. Sold as Zometa for high blood calcium caused by cancer, and for cancer that has spread to bone. It is not approved for ageing, longevity or helping people live longer, and no one has asked for that use.
No first-hand reports gathered yet. That is a gap in what we have collected, not a finding that nothing has been reported.
Goal pages: Muscle and strength, Ageing and longevity, Heart and circulation, Bone and joints
In plain English
In plain English, from Aaron
This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.
Zoledronic acid is a once a year bone drip for osteoporosis. It stops the cells that break down bone. It is approved and given in a clinic. It got famous in ageing circles because fewer people died in one of its studies.
What people take it for
- Fewer broken bones.
- Living longer, because of one study.
- Clearing worn-out 'zombie' cells, based on mouse work.
What studies in people showed
The biggest look pooled 38 studies of bone drugs with 101,642 people. It found no drop in deaths. The death signal came from a study of 2,127 people after a broken hip. On the drip, 9.6 percent died. On a dummy drip, 13.3 percent did. That was a side finding, and nobody can explain it. The same study cut new broken bones from 13.9 to 8.6 percent. In 2,000 older women with thin bones, 122 on the drug broke a weak bone, against 190 on salt water.
What people report
Reports, not study results
The good
- In the studies on this page, it clearly cut broken bones.
The bad
- Fever and aching muscles are common after the first drip.
- Rare risks with long-term use include jaw bone death and an unusual thigh bone break.
Where these come from: These come from the studies and notes on this page. We have not collected user reports on this one yet.
My bottom line
It is a proven bone drug. The live-longer part is an unexplained side finding that did not hold up when studies were pooled. If your bones are thin, get a bone scan and talk to your doctor. Lift weights either way.
An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.
What it has been measured to do
Measured in people
Goals Zoledronic acid has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.
- Bone strength5,065 people · 3 studies
- Living longer3,065 people · 2 studies
- Heart attacks and strokes2,000 people · 1 study
Animal and lab work, not yet tested in people
Real results, but from animals or cells, not people. What works in a mouse often does not work the same way in a person. This is an approved medicine. So the missing study in people is for this use, not for the drug. Drug makers paid to test it for what it is approved for. The record on this one is set out below.
- Getting stronger1 animal or lab study
32 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Zoledronic acid
No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove Zoledronic acid does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about Zoledronic acid and one of these did not come from a study cited here.
Show full evidence
What is Zoledronic acid?
Zoledronic acid is an approved once-a-year bone drip with an odd, unexplained link to fewer deaths. In a study of people after a broken hip, 9.6 percent died on zoledronic acid against 13.3 percent on a dummy drip. Deaths were a side finding, and nobody has explained them. A review that pooled 38 osteoporosis drug studies then found no drop in deaths.
This page is easy to overstate, so the numbers come first and what they mean comes second.
The biggest look at the question found nothing. A 2019 review in JAMA Internal Medicine pooled 38 osteoporosis drug studies against a dummy, covering 101,642 people. It found no link between these drugs and deaths. That held for the bisphosphonate family as a whole, and for the 6 zoledronate studies on their own. Those leaned toward fewer deaths, but the lean could be chance, and the studies did not agree much with each other. The authors said to use these drugs to prevent broken bones, not to prevent death. They also said more studies are needed to tell whether zoledronate cuts deaths.
The signal came from the HORIZON study (NCT00046254). It gave 2,127 people, average age 74.5, a yearly 5 mg drip of zoledronic acid or a dummy drip. They started within 90 days of surgery to fix a broken hip. The typical person was followed for 1.9 years. The main goal was new broken bones, and it was met: 8.6 percent on the drug against 13.9 percent on the dummy, 35 percent fewer.
In the safety data, 101 of 1,054 people on the drug (9.6 percent) and 141 of 1,057 on the dummy (13.3 percent) died. That is 28 percent fewer deaths from any cause. Deaths were not the main goal. The drop turned up in the safety data of a fracture study.
In 2010 the study's own researchers tried to explain it, and mostly could not. Only 8 percent of the survival gain came from preventing more broken bones. Once they allowed for sudden illnesses during follow-up, the survival gain vanished. People on the drug were less likely to die of pneumonia or of heart rhythm problems. The authors said zoledronic acid might be worth studying in other sudden illnesses. In other words, whatever caused the survival gap, it was mostly not the bones.
There is also a large study in older women. Reid and colleagues gave 2,000 New Zealand women over 65 with thinning bones four drips of zoledronate or salt water over six years. It met its goal: 122 women on the drug broke a weak bone, against 190 on salt water. A look at its side effects found fewer heart attacks, fewer cancers, and a lean toward fewer deaths that could still be chance. The authors said these hints justify studies built to measure those things. Those studies have not reported.
The link to worn-out 'zombie' cells came later. A Mayo Clinic team showed in 2023 that zoledronic acid killed zombie cells in a dish while barely touching healthy cells. In old mice, eight weeks of it cut inflammatory signals in the blood and improved grip strength. That is a possible reason for effects beyond bone. It is not proof that it explains the HORIZON numbers.
How does Zoledronic acid work?
Zoledronic acid sticks tightly to bone. Bone-clearing cells, called osteoclasts, take it up. Inside them it blocks an enzyme the cell needs, so the osteoclast stops breaking down bone and dies. That is the proven way it works, and it fully explains the drop in broken bones. It does not explain the drop in deaths. Ideas for effects beyond bone include clearing or quieting zombie cells. Mayo Clinic work supports that idea: the drug killed zombie cells in a dish, and in old mice it cut inflammatory signals in the blood and improved grip strength. Other ideas are effects on young bone-clearing cells that carry zombie markers, and broad effects on immune cells. None of these has been shown to explain the survival gap in people.
What have studies in people found about Zoledronic acid?
Zoledronic acid has a lot of human data from proper studies, all gathered to answer a question about bones. The drop in deaths is real data from a real study against a dummy drip. But it was a side finding, and experts do not agree on whether it is real.
- A 2019 review in JAMA Internal Medicine pooled 38 studies and 101,642 people. It found no drop in deaths for osteoporosis drugs overall, for the bisphosphonate family, or for the six zoledronate studies pooled. Those leaned lower, but the lean could be chance.
- HORIZON, 2,127 people after a broken hip: 9.6 percent died on zoledronic acid against 13.3 percent on a dummy drip, 28 percent fewer. Deaths were not the main goal.
- HORIZON main goal, new broken bones: 8.6 percent against 13.9 percent, 35 percent fewer.
- The researchers' own look at the drop in deaths: only 8 percent of it came from preventing more broken bones, and allowing for sudden illnesses during follow-up wiped it out. Fewer people on the drug died of pneumonia or heart rhythm problems.
- Reid and colleagues, 2,000 New Zealand women over 65 with thinning bones, over six years: 122 broke a weak bone on the drug against 190 on salt water. That was the study's main goal.
- In the same 2,000 women, a side look at illnesses: fewer heart attacks, fewer cancers, and fewer deaths that could still be chance.
- No study anywhere has made death, or any ageing measure, its main goal.
What this does not tell you: Every death number here is a side finding, a look back, or from counting side effects. That is not a technicality. Side findings in studies built for something else are exactly the ones that most often fail to hold up, and the 2019 pooled review is what failing to hold up looks like. The HORIZON patients had just broken a hip, and many were likely to die soon. That is where a survival gap is easiest to spot and hardest to apply to anyone else. The Reid study's cancer and heart findings were not its main goal either, and its own authors asked for proper studies instead of claiming the result. Nobody has shown that a healthy person without osteoporosis gains anything from this drug.
The state of the research
This page does not settle the argument, on purpose, because the experts have not.
The case that the drop in deaths is real: it came from a large study where people were randomly given the drug or a dummy drip, and nobody knew which. So it was not just sicker or healthier people choosing the drug. It was big in real terms: 40 fewer deaths. A second, separate study against a dummy, in another country and in healthier people, found cancer, heart attack and death all leaning the same way. And a possible reason beyond bone has since been shown in cells and old mice, where zoledronic acid killed zombie cells and cut inflammatory signals in the blood.
The case that it is not: deaths were not the main goal. The researchers' own analysis could not find a route for the effect, and allowing for sudden illnesses during follow-up wiped it out. When 38 studies covering 101,642 people were pooled, the drop in deaths disappeared. The zoledronate studies on their own leaned lower but could be chance, and did not agree much with each other. In the Reid study, the lean toward fewer deaths could also be chance. No study has ever been built to answer the death question.
Both sides agree on the fix. The 2019 review and the 2020 Reid analysis say the same thing: a study big enough, and built with these outcomes as its main goal, is needed. That study has not reported. Until it does, zoledronic acid is a well-proven fracture drug with an unexplained drop in deaths attached. That is a genuinely interesting thing to be. It is not the same as a proven anti-ageing drug.
One conflict of interest is worth naming. The senior author of the review that found no drop in deaths reports grants and personal fees from Amgen, which sells a rival osteoporosis drug. The paper says so. We note it so you can weigh it yourself, not because it cancels out a review of 38 studies.
The evidence, in charts
Fig. 1a · how many people
7,176people, across 4 studies in people cited here
| Study | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Journal of Bone and Mineral Research 2010 | 2,111 | 29% |
| New England Journal of Medicine 2018 | 2,000 | 28% |
| Journal of Bone and Mineral Research 2020 | 2,000 | 28% |
| New England Journal of Medicine 2007 | 1,065 | 15% |
Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.
Fig. 1b · evidence mix
4 of 6 sources here are studies in people. The rest are not.
- Study in people · done in people467%
- Animal study · done in animals117%
- Review of studies · sums up other studies117%
Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.
Fig. 2 · evidence over time
The studies cover 6 different years, 2007 to 2023, counted from the list of sources on this page.
Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance
US
Approved
UK
Approved
AU
Approved
CA
Approved
Approved in all four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.
Fig. 5 · what the molecule is
- Kind of compound
- Small molecule
- Molecule weight
- 272.1 Da for the anhydrous acid.
- Half-life
- Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
- Chain length
- None on file
Half-life as stated on file: Plasma clearance is rapid and multiphasic, but the drug binds to bone mineral and is released slowly over years as bone turns over, so no single plasma figure describes its duration of action. This is why it is dosed once a year.
No amino acid sequence is on file for Zoledronic acid, which is expected: a small molecule is not built from amino acids.
The studies we cite
- Study in people2007Zoledronic acid and clinical fractures and mortality after hip fracture
A once a year bone drip after a broken hip cut later fractures, and fewer people died. Around two thousand people, average age in their mid seventies, got the drip or a dummy one within three months of hip surgery, then were followed about two years. New fractures hit about 9 in every hundred on the drug and about 14 on the dummy. Deaths fell too, roughly a quarter fewer. Death was not what the trial was built to measure. Fever and aching muscles were the usual side effects.
HORIZON Recurrent Fracture Trial, NCT00046254. 1,065 assigned to yearly 5 mg intravenous zoledronic acid and 1,062 to placebo within 90 days of hip fracture repair, mean age 74.5, median follow-up 1.9 years. Primary endpoint new clinical fracture: 8.6 percent against 13.9 percent, a 35 percent reduction. In the safety analysis 101 of 1,054 (9.6 percent) on drug and 141 of 1,057 (13.3 percent) on placebo died, a 28 percent reduction in all-cause death, p equals 0.01. Mortality was not the primary endpoint. Commonest adverse events were pyrexia, myalgia and bone and musculoskeletal pain; no osteonecrosis of the jaw was reported.
- Study in people2010Potential mediators of the mortality reduction with zoledronic acid after hip fracture
Nobody knows why the bone drip cut deaths, and the investigators say so themselves. They went back over the records of the same two thousand patients and tried to explain the drop. Preventing later fractures accounted for almost none of it. Once illnesses during follow up were taken into account, the survival gain vanished. Treated people were less likely to die of pneumonia or of heart rhythm problems. This was a look back at data already collected, so it can suggest a reason and cannot prove one.
Exploratory retrospective analysis of the same 2,111 randomised patients, by the trial investigators. Adjusted for baseline risk factors, zoledronic acid reduced death by 25 percent. Only 8 percent of the death benefit was attributable to preventing subsequent fractures. Adjusting for acute events during follow-up eliminated the death benefit, and treated patients were less likely to die from pneumonia and from arrhythmias. The authors concluded the mechanism is not known.
- Study in people2018Fracture Prevention with Zoledronate in Older Women with Osteopenia
The bone drip prevented broken bones in older women with thinning bones. Two thousand New Zealand women aged 65 and over got four infusions of either the drug or plain salt water over six years, spaced eighteen months apart. Fragility fractures happened in 122 women on the drug and 190 on salt water. Roughly fifteen women had to be treated for one to avoid a fracture. The trial was built to count fractures, not deaths, so it cannot tell you whether anyone lived longer.
2,000 New Zealand women aged 65 or older with osteopenia, randomised to four infusions of 5 mg zoledronate or saline at 18-month intervals over six years. Fragility fracture occurred in 190 on placebo and 122 on zoledronate, hazard ratio 0.63 (95 percent CI 0.50 to 0.79). Number needed to treat 15. This is the large trial in older women, and its primary endpoint was fracture, not mortality.
- Study in people2020Effects of Zoledronate on Cancer, Cardiac Events, and Mortality in Osteopenic Older Women
Fewer heart attacks, cancers and deaths turned up on the bone drip, but this was a side look, not the question the trial asked. It re-counted the illnesses and harms recorded in the same two thousand women. Heart attacks fell from 39 women to 24. Cancers fell by about a third. Deaths leaned lower without being clearly separable from chance. The authors say these hints justify a trial built from the start to measure them, which is a polite way of saying this one cannot settle it.
Adverse event analysis of that same 2,000-woman trial. Myocardial infarction in 39 women on placebo against 24 on zoledronate (hazard ratio 0.60, 95 percent CI 0.36 to 1.00). Total cancers reduced, hazard ratio 0.67 (0.51 to 0.89). Hazard ratio for death 0.65 (0.40 to 1.06, p equals 0.08), and 0.51 (0.30 to 0.87) in women without an incident fragility fracture. The authors state these apparent effects justify further appropriately powered trials with these nonskeletal conditions as primary endpoints.
- Review of studies2019Association Between Drug Treatments for Patients With Osteoporosis and Overall Mortality Rates: A Meta-analysis
A review that pooled 38 studies of osteoporosis drugs against a dummy, in 101,642 people. These drugs did not cut deaths. The six zoledronate studies leaned toward fewer deaths, but it could be chance. The authors say to use these drugs for bones, not to live longer, and call for more studies. The senior author gets money from Amgen, which makes a rival drug.
38 randomised placebo-controlled trials, 101,642 participants. No association between osteoporosis drug treatment and overall mortality, risk ratio 0.98 (95 percent CI 0.91 to 1.05). Bisphosphonates 0.95 (0.86 to 1.04). Six zoledronate trials: 0.88 (0.68 to 1.13), not significant, with heterogeneity. The authors concluded bisphosphonates should be recommended to reduce fracture risk rather than mortality, and that further trials are needed to clarify whether zoledronate reduces mortality. The senior author discloses grants and personal fees from Amgen.
- Animal study2023In vitro and in vivo effects of zoledronic acid on senescence and senescence-associated secretory phenotype markers
In human lung cells and mouse cells in a dish, and in old mice. Zoledronic acid killed zombie cells while barely touching healthy ones. In old mice, eight weeks of it cut inflammatory signals in the blood and improved grip strength. It does not test whether it helps people live longer.
Mayo Clinic. In human lung fibroblasts and DNA-repair-deficient mouse embryonic fibroblasts, zoledronic acid killed senescent cells with minimal effect on non-senescent cells. In aged mice treated for eight weeks it significantly reduced circulating SASP factors including CCL7, IL-1 beta, TNFRSF1A and TGF beta 1, and improved grip strength. Cell and mouse work proposing a senolytic or senomorphic mechanism for the non-skeletal effects; it does not test the mortality question in people.
Common questions
Has Zoledronic acid been tested in people?
Yes. 7,176 people given it across 4 completed trials cited here, 0 of which found nothing. Zoledronic acid is an approved once-a-year bone drip with an odd, unexplained link to fewer deaths.
What is the Zoledronic acid dosage?
Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses. Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose. FDA-approved. Sold as Reclast for thin bones (osteoporosis) in women after menopause and in men, for thin bones caused by steroid drugs, and for Paget disease of bone. Sold as Zometa for high blood calcium caused by cancer, and for cancer that has spread to bone. It is not approved for ageing, longevity or helping people live longer, and no one has asked for that use.
Is Zoledronic acid FDA-approved?
FDA-approved. Sold as Reclast for thin bones (osteoporosis) in women after menopause and in men, for thin bones caused by steroid drugs, and for Paget disease of bone. Sold as Zometa for high blood calcium caused by cancer, and for cancer that has spread to bone. It is not approved for ageing, longevity or helping people live longer, and no one has asked for that use.
Does zoledronic acid make you live longer?
Not proven. In a study of 2,127 people after a broken hip, 9.6 percent on the drug died against 13.3 percent on a dummy drip. That was a side finding in a fracture study. The researchers could not explain it, and a later review that pooled 38 studies found no drop in deaths. No study has tested the question head on.
Is it a senolytic?
There is evidence in a dish and in mice. A Mayo Clinic team showed it kills zombie cells while sparing healthy ones in a dish. In old mice, eight weeks of it lowered inflammatory signals in the blood and improved grip strength. Whether that explains anything seen in people is unknown.
Should a healthy person take it for longevity?
No evidence supports that. Every human study enrolled people with broken bones, osteoporosis, thinning bones or cancer. It is a drip given in a clinic. Fever and aches are common after the first dose. Rare risks with long-term use include jaw bone death (osteonecrosis of the jaw) and an unusual thigh bone break.
What did the big trial in older women show?
Two thousand New Zealand women over 65 with thinning bones, over six years, four drips. Broken bones from weak bones went down, which was the main goal. Cancers and heart attacks were also lower, and deaths leaned lower. But those came from counting side effects, and the death result could still be chance. Its own authors called for proper studies instead of claiming the finding.
Why do sources disagree about the mortality effect?
Because the evidence really does disagree. One study found a clear drop as a side finding. The researchers' own analysis could not find a reason. Pooling 38 studies made the effect vanish. Anyone telling you it is settled either way is going past the data.
How is it given?
As a drip into a vein, usually once a year for osteoporosis, given by a clinician. It is not a supplement you swallow, and not something to get on your own.