Skip to content

Apraglutide vs Glepaglutide

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

The short answer

The two long acting GLP-2 copies chasing the same use, and neither is approved. The practical question for patients is how often they inject. The evidence question is which trials have actually reported.

Apraglutide people
0
Apraglutide nulls
0
Glepaglutide people
230
Glepaglutide nulls
2

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

2 completed trials, 0 people given it

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

3 completed trials, 230 people given it

First-hand reports are counted on each profile and never added together. This page sets two published records side by side. It does not pick a winner.

Column A

Apraglutide

Apraglutide (FE 203799), once-weekly GLP-2 analogue

A once a week version of GLP-2 for short bowel syndrome, where the approved drug, teduglutide, needs a daily shot. In small studies it helped the gut absorb more fluid.

Column B

Glepaglutide

Glepaglutide (ZP1848), long-acting GLP-2 receptor agonist

A long-lasting copy of GLP-2, a gut hormone, for people whose short bowel means they need feeding by drip. In a 106 person study, 10 mg twice a week cut weekly drip feeding by 5.13 litres, against 2.85 litres on a dummy injection. Once a week did no better than the dummy. It is not approved anywhere as of September 2026, and another large study is now recruiting.

Side by side, on the facts we can check

What we compareApraglutideGlepaglutide
CategoryHealing & RecoveryMetabolic
FDA statusInvestigational for short bowel syndrome. Not approved at the time of this review.Not FDA approved. No application in the FDA drug database (Drugs@FDA) and no European (EMA) medicine page as of 11 September 2026. The final-stage study EASE SBS-1 is finished. A second final-stage study to confirm the results (NCT07197944) has been signing people up since February 2026.
Half-lifeLong-acting, engineered for once-weekly subcutaneous dosing. No specific figure resolved in the sources loaded.Not reported
Molecular weightModified GLP-2 analogue peptide. No mass asserted; no source loaded states one.Not reported
How it worksIt is a long acting copy of glucagon-like peptide-2, a 33 amino acid hormone released by cells in the gut. GLP-2 makes the gut lining grow. The finger-like folds that absorb food get taller, and the pits between them get deeper. It also slows the stomach and gut, and boosts blood flow to the gut. Together these let the gut absorb more. Changes to its structure make it last long enough for a weekly shot, where teduglutide needs a daily one.The gut releases GLP-2 after meals. It makes the tiny finger-like folds of the gut lining taller and deeper, slows how fast the stomach empties, boosts blood flow to the gut, and helps it absorb fluid and food. People who have lost the end of the small intestine and the colon lose most of the cells that make GLP-2. That is part of why the gut they have left adapts poorly. Glepaglutide switches on the GLP-2 receptor. It is built to release slowly from the injection site and last a long time in the blood. That allows twice-weekly shots. Natural GLP-2 lasts minutes, and teduglutide is given daily. In people, the effects you can measure are on absorption. The earlier study measured stool wet weight and energy absorbed, using careful in-and-out balance tests. Both got better with dose at 1 and 10 mg. In a 10 person study where everyone got the drug, fluid absorption rose 398 g a day at 24 weeks, but chance could explain that. Energy absorbed rose 1,038 kJ a day, which chance is unlikely to explain. The result that matters to patients in the big study, less drip feeding, follows from these absorption changes.
Studies in people26
EvidenceLimited: 2 completed trials, none stating how many peopleModerate: 3 completed trials, 230 people given it
Legal status, USInvestigational, not approvedInvestigational, not approved

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Apraglutide and Glepaglutide?

Apraglutide: A once a week version of GLP-2 for short bowel syndrome, where the approved drug, teduglutide, needs a daily shot. In small studies it helped the gut absorb more fluid. Glepaglutide: A long-lasting copy of GLP-2, a gut hormone, for people whose short bowel means they need feeding by drip. In a 106 person study, 10 mg twice a week cut weekly drip feeding by 5.13 litres, against 2.85 litres on a dummy injection. Once a week did no better than the dummy. It is not approved anywhere as of September 2026, and another large study is now recruiting.

Which has stronger research evidence, Apraglutide or Glepaglutide?

Each compound gets a band worked out from facts we counted, with the math shown. Apraglutide is Limited (2 completed trials, none stating how many people). Glepaglutide is Moderate (3 completed trials, 230 people given it). That counts how much has been done in people. It does not rate whether either one works, and neither one is called the winner.

Are Apraglutide and Glepaglutide FDA-approved?

Apraglutide: Investigational for short bowel syndrome. Not approved at the time of this review.. Glepaglutide: Not FDA approved. No application in the FDA drug database (Drugs@FDA) and no European (EMA) medicine page as of 11 September 2026. The final-stage study EASE SBS-1 is finished. A second final-stage study to confirm the results (NCT07197944) has been signing people up since February 2026..

Reviewed Sep 2026. This page puts two published records side by side. It is for learning, and it is not medical advice. When this site shows a dose, it is the dose a trial or a clinic actually used, or what people say they did, with the source attached. None of it tells you what to take.