Lorecivivint vs UBX0101
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
Two knee arthritis drugs given as a shot into the joint, and both failed on pain. Lorecivivint's two published large final stage pain trials both missed their main goal, so it was filed on the space between the joint bones instead. UBX0101 did no better than a dummy shot on pain at any dose in 183 people.
- Lorecivivint people
- 1,011
- Lorecivivint nulls
- 1
- UBX0101 people
- 183
- UBX0101 nulls
- 0
Dose
No human dose established
Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.
2 completed trials, 1,011 people given it
Dose
No human dose established
Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.
1 completed trial, 183 people given it
First-hand reports are counted on each profile and never added together. This page sets two published records side by side. It does not pick a winner.
Column A
LorecivivintLorecivivint (SM04690)
A knee shot for arthritis that aims to slow cartilage loss. Both of its large published pain studies failed. The company filed with the FDA in January 2026, based on long-term joint space data instead.
Column B
UBX0101UBX0101, intra-articular MDM2 to p53 interaction inhibitor (Unity Biotechnology)
The first clean-up drug for worn-out cells tested in a proper study against a real symptom. In 183 people with knee arthritis, knee pain at 12 weeks was the same on every dose as on a dummy shot, according to results the maker posted to the US trial registry.
Side by side, on the facts we can check
| What we compare | Lorecivivint | UBX0101 |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Healing & Recovery | Longevity |
| FDA status | The maker's application for approval is under FDA review (sent in January 2026) | Not approved. Still investigational. The mid-stage study in osteoarthritis, the wear-and-tear kind of arthritis, finished in 2020. Its results were posted to ClinicalTrials.gov in December 2021. The long-term follow-up study was stopped because it could not meet its main or other goals. |
| Half-life | One to two intra-articular injections per year | Not reported |
| Molecular weight | 505.5 Da | Not reported |
| How it works | It is a shot into the joint that blocks the CLK and DYRK1A enzymes. That tunes the Wnt signal, which lowers inflammation and supports cartilage cells. | Shown in mice and in cells: UBX0101 blocks a protein that normally breaks down p53, a protein that tells damaged cells to die. With more p53 around, worn-out cells, which rely on keeping p53 down to survive, die off. It is injected straight into the joint, to keep the effect in the knee. In people, the studies did not check whether the shot cleared worn-out cells from the joint. They measured pain and function, not worn-out cells. |
| Studies in people | 3 | 4 |
| Evidence | Strong: 2 completed trials, 1,011 people given it | Moderate: 1 completed trial, 183 people given it |
| Legal status, US | Investigational, not approved | Investigational, not approved |
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Lorecivivint and UBX0101?
Lorecivivint: A knee shot for arthritis that aims to slow cartilage loss. Both of its large published pain studies failed. The company filed with the FDA in January 2026, based on long-term joint space data instead. UBX0101: The first clean-up drug for worn-out cells tested in a proper study against a real symptom. In 183 people with knee arthritis, knee pain at 12 weeks was the same on every dose as on a dummy shot, according to results the maker posted to the US trial registry.
Which has stronger research evidence, Lorecivivint or UBX0101?
Each compound gets a band worked out from facts we counted, with the math shown. Lorecivivint is Strong (2 completed trials, 1,011 people given it). UBX0101 is Moderate (1 completed trial, 183 people given it). That counts how much has been done in people. It does not rate whether either one works, and neither one is called the winner.
Are Lorecivivint and UBX0101 FDA-approved?
Lorecivivint: The maker's application for approval is under FDA review (sent in January 2026). UBX0101: Not approved. Still investigational. The mid-stage study in osteoarthritis, the wear-and-tear kind of arthritis, finished in 2020. Its results were posted to ClinicalTrials.gov in December 2021. The long-term follow-up study was stopped because it could not meet its main or other goals..
Related posts
Blog articles that cover Lorecivivint or UBX0101, newest first.
Reviewed Sep 2026. This page puts two published records side by side. It is for learning, and it is not medical advice. When this site shows a dose, it is the dose a trial or a clinic actually used, or what people say they did, with the source attached. None of it tells you what to take.