Skip to content

Teduglutide vs Glepaglutide

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

The short answer

Two GLP-2 copies for short bowel syndrome with gut failure, one approved and one not approved anywhere as of September 2026. In glepaglutide's 106 person large final stage trial, twice weekly doses cut weekly IV nutrition and fluid needs by 5.13 litres, against 2.85 on a dummy shot. The once weekly group did no better than the dummy.

Teduglutide people
83
Teduglutide nulls
0
Glepaglutide people
230
Glepaglutide nulls
2

Dose

Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses

Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.

FDA-approved (Gattex) for short bowel syndrome

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

3 completed trials, 230 people given it

First-hand reports are counted on each profile and never added together. This page sets two published records side by side. It does not pick a winner.

Column A

Teduglutide

Teduglutide (GLP-2 analogue)

An FDA-approved shot that helps the gut grow in short bowel syndrome, so people need less feeding through a vein.

Column B

Glepaglutide

Glepaglutide (ZP1848), long-acting GLP-2 receptor agonist

A long-lasting copy of GLP-2, a gut hormone, for people whose short bowel means they need feeding by drip. In a 106 person study, 10 mg twice a week cut weekly drip feeding by 5.13 litres, against 2.85 litres on a dummy injection. Once a week did no better than the dummy. It is not approved anywhere as of September 2026, and another large study is now recruiting.

Side by side, on the facts we can check

What we compareTeduglutideGlepaglutide
CategoryMetabolicMetabolic
FDA statusFDA-approved (Gattex) for short bowel syndromeNot FDA approved. No application in the FDA drug database (Drugs@FDA) and no European (EMA) medicine page as of 11 September 2026. The final-stage study EASE SBS-1 is finished. A second final-stage study to confirm the results (NCT07197944) has been signing people up since February 2026.
Half-life~2 hoursNot reported
Molecular weight3,752.1 DaNot reported
How it worksIt switches on GLP-2 receptors in the gut. That makes the gut lining grow and absorb food better.The gut releases GLP-2 after meals. It makes the tiny finger-like folds of the gut lining taller and deeper, slows how fast the stomach empties, boosts blood flow to the gut, and helps it absorb fluid and food. People who have lost the end of the small intestine and the colon lose most of the cells that make GLP-2. That is part of why the gut they have left adapts poorly. Glepaglutide switches on the GLP-2 receptor. It is built to release slowly from the injection site and last a long time in the blood. That allows twice-weekly shots. Natural GLP-2 lasts minutes, and teduglutide is given daily. In people, the effects you can measure are on absorption. The earlier study measured stool wet weight and energy absorbed, using careful in-and-out balance tests. Both got better with dose at 1 and 10 mg. In a 10 person study where everyone got the drug, fluid absorption rose 398 g a day at 24 weeks, but chance could explain that. Energy absorbed rose 1,038 kJ a day, which chance is unlikely to explain. The result that matters to patients in the big study, less drip feeding, follows from these absorption changes.
Studies in people36
EvidenceLimited: 2 completed trials, 83 people given itModerate: 3 completed trials, 230 people given it
Legal status, USFDA-approved, prescription onlyInvestigational, not approved

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Teduglutide and Glepaglutide?

Teduglutide: An FDA-approved shot that helps the gut grow in short bowel syndrome, so people need less feeding through a vein. Glepaglutide: A long-lasting copy of GLP-2, a gut hormone, for people whose short bowel means they need feeding by drip. In a 106 person study, 10 mg twice a week cut weekly drip feeding by 5.13 litres, against 2.85 litres on a dummy injection. Once a week did no better than the dummy. It is not approved anywhere as of September 2026, and another large study is now recruiting.

Which has stronger research evidence, Teduglutide or Glepaglutide?

Each compound gets a band worked out from facts we counted, with the math shown. Teduglutide is Limited (2 completed trials, 83 people given it). Glepaglutide is Moderate (3 completed trials, 230 people given it). That counts how much has been done in people. It does not rate whether either one works, and neither one is called the winner.

Are Teduglutide and Glepaglutide FDA-approved?

Teduglutide: FDA-approved (Gattex) for short bowel syndrome. Glepaglutide: Not FDA approved. No application in the FDA drug database (Drugs@FDA) and no European (EMA) medicine page as of 11 September 2026. The final-stage study EASE SBS-1 is finished. A second final-stage study to confirm the results (NCT07197944) has been signing people up since February 2026..

Related posts

Blog articles that cover Teduglutide or Glepaglutide, newest first.

Reviewed Sep 2026. This page puts two published records side by side. It is for learning, and it is not medical advice. When this site shows a dose, it is the dose a trial or a clinic actually used, or what people say they did, with the source attached. None of it tells you what to take.