Skip to content

MK-677 with ipamorelin dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Moderate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 2 completed trials, 182 people given it.7 reported

The short answer

MK-677 with ipamorelin is not one vial but one plan: a daily pill alongside a shot.

Evidence grade for MK-677 with ipamorelin: Moderate. The rule: at least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. The sum on this page: 2 completed trials, 182 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
182
Human studies
2
Found nothing
0

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

2 completed trials, 182 people given it

7 effects reported, 5 unwanted, 2 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

Goal pages: Fat loss and metabolism, Muscle and strength, Hormones and growth hormone, Gut health

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

This one is not a vial. It is a pill every day plus a shot. People run them together because one is slow and easy and one is fast. Both press the same switch. So this is one thing done twice, not two things.

What people take it for

  • Building or holding muscle.
  • Better sleep.
  • Eating more, when that is the goal.
  • Feeling less worn down with age.

What studies in people showed

The pair has never been tested. But the pill half has the best trial in this whole corner of the site. Sixty five healthy adults aged 60 to 81 took 25 mg a day or a dummy pill for two years. Growth hormone and IGF-1 went back up to young adult levels. Fat free mass went up 1.1 kg in the drug group and down 0.5 kg in the dummy group. Body cell mass went up 0.8 kg against a 1.0 kg drop. That is real, and it is also about a kilogram over two years. The trial did not show a benefit for strength or for how well people functioned. The shot half has one trial, in 117 people after bowel surgery, and it did not beat a dummy shot. One more thing about that kilogram. Fat free mass counts body water, and this drug class makes you hold water. So part of it is not muscle.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • Deep sleep, especially in the first month.
  • A big jump in appetite, if that is what you want.

The bad

  • A very large appetite increase. For many people this is the whole experience.
  • Water retention, puffy hands and feet, and a fast scale jump people mistake for muscle.
  • Numb or tingling fingers.
  • Higher fasting blood sugar. This is the most common lab change people report and it is the number to watch.
  • People say the shot adds little on top of the pill, which is exactly what you would expect when both press the same switch.

Where these come from: Peptide and gym forums plus clinic write-ups. The appetite and water effects also show up in the proper studies on this drug type.

My bottom line

The pill has a two year trial and it bought about a kilogram of fat free mass with no strength gain. Adding the shot presses the same button again. Watch your blood sugar.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Measured in people

Goals MK-677 with ipamorelin has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.

What people using it report

Real people telling you what happened to them. Nobody checked it, and the people who post are not a fair sample, so it cannot prove anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with MK-677 with ipamorelin, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.

31 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind MK-677 with ipamorelin

No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove MK-677 with ipamorelin does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about MK-677 with ipamorelin and one of these did not come from a study cited here.

Show full evidence

What is MK-677 with ipamorelin?

MK-677 with ipamorelin is not one vial but one plan: a daily pill alongside a shot. Both press the same switch, so this is one way of working given twice. MK-677 has a two-year study in people, which is rare for this group. In it, lean weight rose 1.1 kg on the drug and fell 0.5 kg on the dummy pill. Strength and daily function did not clearly improve.

People use these together because one is an easy, slow pill and the other is a fast shot. Together it feels like covering both bases. In the body it is one switch, pressed twice.

MK-677 is a pill that presses the hunger hormone switch. Ipamorelin is a shot that presses the same switch. Neither is a GHRH drug. So nothing in this plan brings the second way of working that the two-switch idea depends on. Someone using both has doubled up on one target and left the other one empty.

What makes this pair worth a page is that MK-677 has a real two-year study. Sixty five healthy adults aged 60 to 81 took a 25 mg pill once a day, or a dummy pill, for two years. Neither they nor the researchers knew who got which. Growth hormone and IGF-1 rose into the range of a young adult, with no serious side effects. Lean weight, meaning everything that is not fat, rose 1.1 kg on MK-677. It fell 0.5 kg on the dummy pill. Cell mass, measured as water inside cells, went up 0.8 kg against a 1.0 kg fall. Those are real numbers from a real study. They are also modest. And strength and daily function did not clearly get better.

Ipamorelin has one proper study. 117 bowel surgery patients got it into a vein. It was safe. People on the dummy drip got back to a solid meal just as fast.

The practical problem is timing. MK-677 is taken once a day and keeps growth hormone raised around the clock. Ipamorelin is gone in hours and makes one burst. The body normally releases growth hormone in bursts over a low background. Staying raised all the time is a different state from a burst. Adding a burst on top of a raised baseline is not the same as either one. Nobody has measured what it does.

How does MK-677 with ipamorelin work?

Both press the hunger hormone switch. MK-677 works as a pill and lasts long enough to keep growth hormone and IGF-1 raised all day. Ipamorelin is a shot and short acting. Since they share a switch, they stack like a bigger dose. They do not help each other in different ways. Nobody has studied what happens when a steady rise and a short burst are combined.

What have studies in people found about MK-677 with ipamorelin?

Each one has been studied alone. The pair has not. The biggest study here is a two-year study that found a real but modest gain in lean weight, and no clear gain in strength or function.

  • MK-677: two years, 65 healthy older adults, 25 mg a day. Lean weight rose 1.1 kg, against a 0.5 kg fall on the dummy pill. Growth hormone and IGF-1 went back to young adult levels. Strength and function did not clearly improve.
  • Ipamorelin: one proper study, 117 surgery patients, given into a vein. It was safe. People on the dummy drip did just as well on what it measured.
  • Two hunger-hormone type drugs together: never studied in people.
  • The pair: no published study and no listed trial.

What this does not tell you: The MK-677 study measured body make-up, not performance. The gain was about a kilogram of lean weight over two years. Lean weight includes water. Pressing the hunger hormone switch for a long time is known to make the body hold water. So part of that number is not muscle.

What do people who took MK-677 with ipamorelin report?

This is what real people say happened to them, good and bad. Nobody measured it. A report cannot tell a real effect from the lift people get just from expecting it to work, from a diet or training change made at the same time, or from what was really in the vial. We still put it near the top. It is the next best thing to a study in people: what happens when real people use it, including what goes wrong.

  • A very big jump in appetite from the pill. This is often the main effect people describe.
  • Deep sleep, mostly in the first month.
  • Clear water retention, puffy hands and feet, and a fast jump on the scale that people mistake for muscle.
  • Numb or tingling fingers, the classic sign of water pressing on a nerve.
  • Higher fasting blood sugar on blood tests. This is the most common lab change people report.
  • Little extra effect from the shot on top of the pill. That is just what you would expect when both press the same switch.

Sources: Peptide and bodybuilding forums including r/peptides, plus clinic write-ups. Uncontrolled self-reports. The appetite and fluid retention effects also appear in the controlled literature on sustained ghrelin-receptor agonism.

The state of the research

MK-677's study is the honest centre of this page, and it cuts both ways. It is the only two-year study of this kind of drug in people. It hit its main goal on body make-up. The size of the effect was about one kilogram of lean weight, against a dummy pill group that lost half a kilogram. It did not turn into more strength or better function. If you want to know what to expect from a growth hormone booster plan, start from that number, not from forum stories.

The two known costs of pressing the hunger hormone switch for a long time are hunger and blood sugar. MK-677 makes you hungrier. That is why it was also tested in people who were wasting away. Keeping growth hormone raised also makes the body handle blood sugar less well. Adding a second drug on the same switch adds to the dose that drives both.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

182people, across 2 studies in people cited here

0182 people
How many people: 182 people across 2 cited studies in people, drawn as one bar split into one block per study. The largest study holds 117 of them, 64 percent of the total.
People in each cited study in people
StudyPeopleShare
International Journal of Colorectal Disease 201411764%
Annals of Internal Medicine 20086536%

One study holds 64% of these people, so the total rests more on one study than its size suggests. Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

2 of 3 sources here are studies in people. The rest is not.

03 sources
  • Study in people · done in people267%
  • Review of studies · sums up other studies133%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

The studies cover 3 different years, 2008 to 2018, counted from the list of sources on this page. The newest source on file is from 2018, more than five years ago. Research on it may have gone quiet.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Blend
Molecule weight
Not on file
Half-life
Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
Chain length
None on file

Half-life as stated on file: Not defined for the pairing. One component persists far longer than the other, which is why no single schedule fits both, and the pairing has never been measured.

No amino acid sequence is on file for MK-677 with ipamorelin, which is expected: a blend is not built from amino acids.

Fig. 6 · what is in the vial

We cannot show how much of each is in this blend

Sellers do not agree on a vial size for MK-677 with ipamorelin, so nobody outside can know how much of each ingredient is in it. Splitting the bar evenly would make up the very number this page is here to question.

  • MK-677 (ibutamoren)Limited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 2 completed trials, 65 people given it.amount not stated
  • IpamorelinModerate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 2 completed trials, 157 people given it.amount not stated

Ingredient list from the product labels we have. Amounts are what the label says is in the vial, never a dose.

The studies we cite

  • Study in people2008
    Effects of an oral ghrelin mimetic on body composition and clinical outcomes in healthy older adults: a randomized trial

    MK-677 worked in the longest study any of these drugs has had, and the gains were modest. 65 healthy adults aged 60 to 81 took a 25 mg pill or a dummy pill every day for two years. Nobody knew which they had. Growth hormone and IGF-1 climbed back into the range of a healthy young adult, with no serious harms. Lean weight rose about 1.1 kg on the drug and fell 0.5 kg on the dummy pill. That is roughly two pounds gained against one pound lost.

    65 healthy adults aged 60 to 81 took MK-677 25 mg orally once daily or placebo for two years in a double-blind randomised modified-crossover trial. Growth hormone and IGF-1 rose into the healthy young adult range without serious adverse events. Fat-free mass increased 1.1 kg on MK-677 against a 0.5 kg fall on placebo, and body cell mass measured as intracellular water rose 0.8 kg against a 1.0 kg fall. This is the longest randomised trial of any secretagogue in this database.

  • Study in people2014
    Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the Ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients

    Ipamorelin has one proper study in people, and it was done after bowel surgery. 117 adults got either ipamorelin into a vein twice a day or a dummy drip, by chance. The study measured how quickly they could eat a solid meal again. Safety was the real finding. It is still the only proper test of this peptide in people. Keep that in mind when it is sold as the gentle half of a blend.

    117 adults after open or laparoscopic bowel resection randomised to intravenous ipamorelin 0.03 mg/kg twice daily or placebo, with time to tolerating a standardised solid meal as the key endpoint. Safety was the main finding. It remains the only randomised controlled trial of ipamorelin in people.

  • Review of studies2018
    The Safety and Efficacy of Growth Hormone Secretagogues

    This is a review, not a test. It covers growth hormone boosters taken as pills and shots. It notes two warning signs when the hunger hormone switch is pressed for a long time: the body handles blood sugar less well, and it holds on to water. It also covers the gap between hormone levels and real health results.

    A review of oral and injectable secretagogues covering their endocrine effects, the insulin sensitivity and fluid retention signals seen with sustained ghrelin-receptor agonism, and the distance between surrogate hormone endpoints and clinical outcomes.

Where to buy MK-677 with ipamorelin

No seller we track lists MK-677 with ipamorelin yet. We read sellers’ public product lists every week, and this section fills in as soon as one does. Every seller, graded

Common questions

Has MK-677 with ipamorelin been tested in people?

Yes. 182 people given it across 2 completed trials cited here, 0 of which found nothing. MK-677 with ipamorelin is not one vial but one plan: a daily pill alongside a shot.

What is the MK-677 with ipamorelin dosage?

No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 2 completed trials, 182 people given it

Is MK-677 with ipamorelin FDA-approved?

Not approved. MK-677 went through its human testing without ever being approved, and is sold as a research chemical. Ipamorelin has never been approved.

Do these two do different things?

No. Both press the hunger hormone switch. Using both is one way of working given twice, not two ways.

What did the MK-677 trial actually show?

Over two years in 65 healthy adults aged 60 to 81, lean weight rose 1.1 kg, against a 0.5 kg fall on the dummy pill. Growth hormone and IGF-1 went back to young adult levels. Strength and function did not clearly improve.

Is the scale weight muscle?

Partly at best. Lean weight includes body water, and pressing the hunger hormone switch for a long time makes you hold water. A fast gain in the first weeks is mostly water.

Will this affect my blood sugar?

Keeping growth hormone raised makes the body handle blood sugar less well. Higher fasting blood sugar is the most common lab change people report on the pill. If you use this, that is the number to watch.

Has the combination been tested?

No. There is no study of MK-677 with ipamorelin. There is no study of any two hunger-hormone type drugs given together in people.

Related compounds