Sermorelin with ipamorelin dosage and evidence
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
Sermorelin with ipamorelin is the blend most likely to come from a compounding pharmacy with a prescriber's name on it.
Evidence grade for Sermorelin with ipamorelin: Moderate. The rule: at least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. The sum on this page: 1 completed trial, 117 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.
- People given it
- 117
- Human studies
- 1
- Found nothing
- 0
Dose
No human dose established
Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.
1 completed trial, 117 people given it
8 effects reported, 4 unwanted, 4 wanted, by people using it, not a trial
Goal pages: Hormones and growth hormone, Gut health
In plain English
In plain English, from Aaron
This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.
This is the one that comes from a real pharmacy with a doctor's name on it. Usually a shot at bedtime, five nights a week. Sermorelin used to be an approved medicine. Ipamorelin never was. The pharmacy label makes it feel tested. The mix has never been tested.
What people take it for
- Better sleep.
- Losing fat and holding muscle.
- Healing and recovery.
- Feeling less worn down with age.
What studies in people showed
There is no trial of the pair. Sermorelin has the better history. It was an approved product and was compared head to head against growth hormone itself in children who did not make enough. Ipamorelin has exactly one real trial. It was given by drip to 117 people after bowel surgery. It was safe. It did not beat a dummy shot at getting people eating solid food again. That is the whole proper record for that molecule in people. For the two drug types together, a 24 hour drip of a GHRP with GHRH beat GHRH alone in healthy older adults. Different drugs, a clinic, a drip. Compounding pharmacies use several strengths. Read the milligrams and the fill volume on your own label and work it from there.
What people report
Reports, not study results
The good
- Deeper sleep in the first two to four weeks. This is the main one.
- Vivid dreams.
- Training recovery feeling easier by month two, which people put down to the sleep.
- Little or no hunger, which is why doctors pick this one over the older GHRPs.
The bad
- No change on the scale, in the mirror or in the gym. Reported often.
- Red or sore shot sites, and sometimes flushing.
- A bloodwork number will move, but it cannot tell you which half did it, because both end in the same place.
- A prescription does not mean a regulator looked at this. Compounded mixes are not FDA approved and nobody reviews them for whether they work.
Where these come from: Clinic handouts, patient materials and peptide forums. People talking, not trial data. The one ipamorelin trial is listed on this page and it did not meet its goal.
My bottom line
A pharmacy label changes where it comes from, not what is known about it. The one real trial of the ipamorelin half missed its target.
An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.
What it has been measured to do
Measured in people
Goals Sermorelin with ipamorelin has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.
- Gut and digestion117 people · 1 study
- Growth hormone and IGF-1no headcount stated · 2 studies
What people using it report
Real people telling you what happened to them. Nobody checked it, and the people who post are not a fair sample, so it cannot prove anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with Sermorelin with ipamorelin, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.
33 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Sermorelin with ipamorelin
No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove Sermorelin with ipamorelin does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about Sermorelin with ipamorelin and one of these did not come from a study cited here.
Show full evidence
What is Sermorelin with ipamorelin?
Sermorelin with ipamorelin is the blend most likely to come from a compounding pharmacy with a prescriber's name on it. It is usually a nightly shot under the skin. Nobody has tested the pair. Sermorelin used to be an approved medicine. Ipamorelin has one proper study in people: 117 patients after surgery. It was safe, but people on the dummy drip did just as well on what the study measured.
This is the respectable end of the blend market. A prescriber, a compounding pharmacy, a labelled syringe, and a note to inject at bedtime five nights a week. All of that hints that someone checked the mix. Nobody did.
Sermorelin has the stronger history with regulators. It is a copy of the first part of GHRH, the brain's own growth hormone switch. It was an approved medicine. Doctors used it to test for growth hormone problems and to help children short of growth hormone grow. A 1993 study compared it with growth hormone itself for that job. It was later pulled from sale for business reasons, which is not the same as being pulled for safety.
Ipamorelin's record in people is smaller than its name. It has one proper study. 117 patients had part of the bowel removed, by open or keyhole surgery. They got 0.03 mg/kg into a vein twice a day, or a dummy drip. The study measured how long it took them to handle a solid meal. Ipamorelin was safe. But the dummy group got back to solid food just as fast. That is the whole record of whether it works in people, and it is a no-difference result in a setting nobody buys it for.
The math depends on your prescription, because pharmacies do not use one strength. Sermorelin alone comes in several vial strengths, and blended vials vary. Clinic notes often describe a 0.2 mL shot under the skin at bedtime with 300 micrograms of peptide in all. On an even split that is 150 micrograms of each. Since no strength is standard, this page will not name a vial size. Read the milligrams and the fill volume on the label you were given.
The timing mismatch is smaller here than in most of these blends. That is the honest point in the product's favour. Both halves are short acting, both suit a bedtime dose, and both aim at the same nightly burst of growth hormone. But that also means the two halves do not cover different parts of the day. They both push the same burst at the same moment. So the result is one combined effect, and no blood test can split it between them.
How does Sermorelin with ipamorelin work?
Sermorelin presses the GHRH switch on the growth hormone cells in the pituitary gland, and makes each burst of growth hormone bigger. Ipamorelin presses the hunger hormone switch and sets off a burst. Prescribers pick it because it releases growth hormone with less effect on the stress hormone cortisol and the hormone prolactin than the older peptides of its kind. Both roads end at growth hormone and then IGF-1. So blood tests show the effect of the pair, not of each half.
What have studies in people found about Sermorelin with ipamorelin?
The pair has no study. Sermorelin was approved based on children short of growth hormone. Ipamorelin has one proper study, in surgery patients, and it found no difference from a dummy drip.
- Ipamorelin: one proper study, 117 bowel surgery patients, given into a vein. It was safe. People on the dummy drip got back to solid food just as fast.
- Sermorelin: approved in the past based on children short of growth hormone. That includes a study comparing it with growth hormone itself. It was later pulled from sale for business reasons.
- The pairing of the two drug kinds: in healthy older adults, a GHRP plus GHRH by drip raised growth hormone more than GHRH alone.
- The blend: no published study and no listed trial of sermorelin with ipamorelin.
What this does not tell you: No study of this kind of drug has measured what an adult buying a bedtime blend wants: body shape, recovery, sleep quality or daily function over months. The studies measured hormone levels. A hormone level is a blood number, not a real-life result.
What do people who took Sermorelin with ipamorelin report?
This is what real people say happened to them, good and bad. Nobody measured it. A report cannot tell a real effect from the lift people get just from expecting it to work, from a diet or training change made at the same time, or from what was really in the vial. We still put it near the top. It is the next best thing to a study in people: what happens when real people use it, including what goes wrong.
- Deeper sleep in the first two to four weeks. This is the most steady report.
- Vivid dreams.
- Recovery from training feeling easier by the second month, which people credit to the better sleep.
- Little or no change in appetite. That is why prescribers pick ipamorelin over the older peptides of its kind.
- Redness where the shot goes in, and some flushing.
- No change on the scale, in the mirror or in strength. This comes up often.
Sources: Clinic write-ups, prescriber patient materials and peptide forums. Uncontrolled self-reports. The absence of appetite change is consistent with ipamorelin's receptor selectivity but has not been measured in a trial of this blend.
The state of the research
A prescription changes where the drug comes from. It does not change the evidence. Compounded drugs are not FDA approved and nobody reviews them for safety or whether they work. A clinician signing for one means a clinician thought it was reasonable. It does not mean a regulator saw data. That is worth saying bluntly. It is the main reason people treat this blend as better proven than research vials with similar molecules.
The second thing is the no-difference study. Ipamorelin's one proper study did not beat the dummy drip on what it measured. That does not prove the molecule does nothing anywhere. But it is the only test of whether it works in people, and it points the wrong way.
The evidence, in charts
Fig. 1a · how many people
117people, across 1 study in people cited here
| Study | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| International Journal of Colorectal Disease 2014 | 117 | 100% |
The whole total is one study of 117. Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. 2 more studies in people give no headcount and are not counted here. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.
Fig. 1b · evidence mix
3 of 4 sources here are studies in people. The rest is not.
- Study in people · done in people375%
- Review of studies · sums up other studies125%
Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.
Fig. 2 · evidence over time
The studies cover 4 different years, 1993 to 2018, counted from the list of sources on this page. The newest source on file is from 2018, more than five years ago. Research on it may have gone quiet.
Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance
US
Not approved
UK
Not approved
AU
Not approved
CA
Not approved
Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.
Fig. 4 · how much does what
Nobody has tested different amounts in people
This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.
Fig. 5 · what the molecule is
- Kind of compound
- Blend
- Molecule weight
- Not on file
- Half-life
- Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
- Chain length
- None on file
Half-life as stated on file: Not defined for the blend, and both halves are short acting, which is why the dose is given at bedtime. No pharmacokinetic study of the mixture exists.
No amino acid sequence is on file for Sermorelin with ipamorelin, which is expected: a blend is not built from amino acids.
Fig. 6 · what is in the vial
We cannot show how much of each is in this blend
Sellers do not agree on a vial size for Sermorelin with ipamorelin, so nobody outside can know how much of each ingredient is in it. Splitting the bar evenly would make up the very number this page is here to question.
- SermorelinModerate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 3 completed trials, 139 people given it.amount not stated
- IpamorelinModerate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 2 completed trials, 157 people given it.amount not stated
Ingredient list from the product labels we have. Amounts are what the label says is in the vial, never a dose.
The studies we cite
- Study in people2014Prospective, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept study of the Ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for the management of postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients
Ipamorelin has been tested properly in people exactly once, and it was for a gut problem after surgery. 117 adults having part of the bowel removed got either ipamorelin into a vein twice a day or a dummy drip, by chance. They got it from the day after surgery until they went home or a week passed. The study watched how long it took them to manage a normal solid meal. Nothing here is about muscle, sleep, or the reasons this peptide is sold.
117 adults undergoing small and large bowel resection were randomised to intravenous ipamorelin 0.03 mg/kg twice daily or placebo, from postoperative day 1 to day 7 or discharge, with time to tolerating a standardised solid meal as the key efficacy endpoint. This is the only randomised controlled trial of ipamorelin in people, and it is a post-surgical setting rather than any of the uses the peptide is sold for.
- Study in people1993A comparative study of growth hormone (GH) and GH-releasing hormone(1-29)-NH2 for stimulation of growth in children with GH deficiency
Sermorelin was put head to head with growth hormone itself, in children who were short of it. That is the sort of evidence behind sermorelin's approval as a medicine. Be clear about who was studied. These were children with a diagnosed hormone shortage, treated so they would grow. They were not healthy adults hoping to swap fat for muscle, which is what this product is sold for.
GHRH 1-29, the molecule sold as sermorelin, was compared against growth hormone itself for stimulating growth in children with growth hormone deficiency. This is the kind of evidence that sat behind sermorelin's approval, and it is a paediatric deficiency population, not healthy adults seeking body composition change.
- Study in people2004Sustained elevation of pulsatile growth hormone (GH) secretion and insulin-like growth factor I (IGF-I), IGF-binding protein-3 (IGFBP-3), and IGFBP-5 concentrations during 30-day continuous subcutaneous infusion of GH-releasing peptide-2 in older men and women
The two-switch idea behind this vial has worked in people, but with different drugs. Healthy older adults given a hunger-hormone type peptide together with GHRH made more growth hormone than with either one alone. That is the best proof that pairing the two kinds does something real. It is not proof for this product. The study used GHRP-2 with GHRH, fed in slowly through a drip. It did not use sermorelin with ipamorelin from a pharmacy vial.
In healthy older adults a ghrelin-receptor agonist combined with GHRH over 24 hours raised growth hormone secretion above either agent alone. It is the best evidence that the two-receptor idea works in people, and it used GHRP-2 with GHRH by infusion, not sermorelin with ipamorelin from a compounded vial.
- Review of studies2018The Safety and Efficacy of Growth Hormone Secretagogues
This is a review, not a test. It covers the two kinds of growth hormone boosters in this vial and what they do to hormone levels. It also covers the gap between those hormone changes and the health results people claim.
A review of the class covering GHRH analogues and ghrelin-receptor agonists, their measured endocrine effects and the gap between those effects and the clinical outcomes claimed for them.
Where to buy Sermorelin with ipamorelin
15 sellers list Sermorelin with ipamorelin in our latest read. They are ranked by trust score, then by archive rating, then by certificate tier, then by the lowest price per milligram. Archive evidence is counted before source-backed. Each path is out of 4, and the two are not added. A higher price does not raise the score. The letter is the certificate chip. 0 of them have a published certificate that names Sermorelin with ipamorelin.
Some seller links may pay this site when you buy through them. A payment never changes a seller's tier or rank, and no seller has a say in any page.
| Seller | Trust score | Vial sizes | From, per mg | Certificate for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | Seller link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core Peptides | 75 StrongSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Biotech Peptides | 49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 3 of 4.A | 10 mg | $8.10 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Liberty Peptides | 49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A | 10 mg | $6.80 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Core Peptides Official | 49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A | 10 mg | $7.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Sigma Compounds | 49 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.B | 10 mg | $11.9 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Raw Amino | 46 WeakSource-backed 3 of 4. Archive evidence 2 of 4.A | 10 mg | $8.70 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| USA Peptide Science Shop | 45 WeakSource-backed 2 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.B | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Peptides World | 39 WeakSource-backed 4 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.B | 5 mg | $18.0 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Limitless Biotech ST | 36 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Lejian Biotech Peptide | 35 WeakSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Huaian Hanyou Peptide | 25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| MJA Peptides | 25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| ZL Peptides | 25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $8.00 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| Peptide Science LLC | 25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $9.50 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
| USA Peptide Sciences | 25 InsufficientSource-backed 1 of 4. Archive evidence 1 of 4.C | 10 mg | $9.50 | None found for Sermorelin with ipamorelin | View |
- LC Lab-confirmed: the issuing laboratory echoed this certificate back
- A Current certificate, independent laboratory named, laboratory not yet checked
- B Certificate published, but no laboratory link, older than a year, or the laboratory did not recognise the published lookup
- C No certificate could be read
Every listing and vial size for Sermorelin with ipamorelin · How the trust score is counted
Sellers named on the price pages are ranked by certificate tier, then price, and any affiliate income is disclosed there. Naming a seller is not a recommendation to buy or use anything.
Common questions
Has Sermorelin with ipamorelin been tested in people?
Yes. 117 people given it across 1 completed trial cited here, 0 of which found nothing. Sermorelin with ipamorelin is the blend most likely to come from a compounding pharmacy with a prescriber's name on it.
What is the Sermorelin with ipamorelin dosage?
No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 1 completed trial, 117 people given it
Is Sermorelin with ipamorelin FDA-approved?
Not approved as a combination. Sermorelin was once approved in the US, and was pulled from sale for business reasons. Ipamorelin has never been approved anywhere.
It came from a pharmacy with a prescription, so is it tested?
No. Compounded drugs are not FDA approved. Nobody reviews them for safety or whether they work. The pair itself has no published study in people or animals.
What does ipamorelin's human trial show?
One proper study in 117 patients after bowel surgery, given into a vein. It was safe. People on the dummy drip got back to a solid meal just as fast. That is the whole record of whether it works in people.
Why at bedtime?
Both halves are short acting. The body's biggest natural burst of growth hormone comes early in sleep. So the dose is timed to add to it. That is the reason prescribers give. No study has compared bedtime dosing with any other timing for this blend.
What strength will my vial be?
There is no standard. Pharmacies send out several strengths and fill volumes. Read the milligrams and the volume on your own label and work out the amount per unit from those. Do not use a number you found online.
Will bloodwork tell me if it is working?
IGF-1 will tell you your body responded to the pair. It cannot split the two halves, because they both end at the same place. And it does not tell you whether anything you care about changed.