Metformin plus rapamycin vs Rapamycin
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
The pair against the single drug. This matters because metformin blunts some of the exercise and muscle gains that people take rapamycin hoping to keep. So the stack is not automatically the sum of its parts.
- Metformin plus rapamycin people
- 0
- Metformin plus rapamycin nulls
- 0
- Rapamycin people
- 25
- Rapamycin nulls
- 0
Dose
No human dose established
No published study on this page has given this compound to people and reported a result.
2 registered with no result
Dose
Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses
Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.
FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational
First-hand reports are counted on each profile and never added together. This page sets two published records side by side. It does not pick a winner.
Column A
Metformin plus rapamycinMetformin plus rapamycin (Interventions Testing Program combination arm)
Nobody has tested this pair in people. In mice fed both from 9 months, typical lifespan rose 23 percent in both sexes. But metformin alone did nothing in the same run. There was no rapamycin-only group to compare with. And the mouse program's own paper says the extra gain over earlier rapamycin-only runs did not pass its standard test.
Column B
RapamycinRapamycin (Sirolimus, mTOR inhibitor)
An approved drug that blocks mTOR, a growth switch in cells. It makes many kinds of animals live longer. Some people take low, spaced-out doses for ageing, off-label. Studies in people are small.
Side by side, on the facts we can check
| What we compare | Metformin plus rapamycin | Rapamycin |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Longevity | Longevity |
| FDA status | Both drugs are FDA-approved for other uses (metformin for type 2 diabetes, rapamycin as sirolimus for transplant rejection and other uses). The combination is not approved for anything. The lifespan result is in mice, and the study did not test rapamycin alone at the same time to compare. | FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational |
| Half-life | Not reported | ~60 hours |
| Molecular weight | Not reported | 914.2 Da |
| How it works | Rapamycin blocks mTORC1, a growth switch. At the doses used in mice, it lowers cancer rates, changes immune function and shifts metabolism in ways that differ from eating less. Metformin blocks part of the mitochondria's energy chain (complex I). It turns on an energy sensor called AMPK in some tissues, and it cuts the sugar the liver releases. The idea behind combining them was that metformin might soften the high blood sugar and insulin resistance rapamycin causes in mice. The two also work on partly separate nutrient sensors. The mouse paper reports lifespan and does not test that idea. It had no rapamycin-only group, so it cannot say whether metformin added anything. The case for a boost rests on guesses from each drug's own record. In people there are no data on the pair. How each drug acts in the body is on its own page. | It blocks the mTOR pathway. That copies part of what eating less does to cells, and it boosts cell clean-up and upkeep. |
| Studies in people | 2 | 3 |
| Evidence | Preliminary: 2 registered with no result | Limited: 2 completed trials, 25 people given it |
| Legal status, US | Prescription only, each drug separately; no approved combination | FDA-approved (for its labeled use), prescription only |
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Metformin plus rapamycin and Rapamycin?
Metformin plus rapamycin: Nobody has tested this pair in people. In mice fed both from 9 months, typical lifespan rose 23 percent in both sexes. But metformin alone did nothing in the same run. There was no rapamycin-only group to compare with. And the mouse program's own paper says the extra gain over earlier rapamycin-only runs did not pass its standard test. Rapamycin: An approved drug that blocks mTOR, a growth switch in cells. It makes many kinds of animals live longer. Some people take low, spaced-out doses for ageing, off-label. Studies in people are small.
Which has stronger research evidence, Metformin plus rapamycin or Rapamycin?
Each compound gets a band worked out from facts we counted, with the math shown. Metformin plus rapamycin is Preliminary (2 registered with no result). Rapamycin is Limited (2 completed trials, 25 people given it). That counts how much has been done in people. It does not rate whether either one works, and neither one is called the winner.
Are Metformin plus rapamycin and Rapamycin FDA-approved?
Metformin plus rapamycin: Both drugs are FDA-approved for other uses (metformin for type 2 diabetes, rapamycin as sirolimus for transplant rejection and other uses). The combination is not approved for anything. The lifespan result is in mice, and the study did not test rapamycin alone at the same time to compare.. Rapamycin: FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational.
Related posts
Blog articles that cover Metformin plus rapamycin or Rapamycin, newest first.
- Longevity / Sep 27, 2026 / 12 minPeptides for Longevity: What the Evidence Actually Shows in 2026
- Longevity / Sep 27, 2026 / 9 minSenolytics in 2026: Dasatinib plus Quercetin, Fisetin, and What Human Trials Have Shown
- Longevity / Sep 27, 2026 / 9 minThe Rapamycin Dosing Debate: What PEARL Tested, the Bioavailability Problem, and What Is Unproven
Reviewed Sep 2026. This page puts two published records side by side. It is for learning, and it is not medical advice. When this site shows a dose, it is the dose a trial or a clinic actually used, or what people say they did, with the source attached. None of it tells you what to take.