Skip to content

Rapamycin plus acarbose vs Rapamycin

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

The short answer

One of the few longevity pairs tested as a pair, rather than put together by a clinic. It was in mice, where the pair did better than either drug alone. Everything about the result is in rodents, and none of it has been tested in people.

Rapamycin plus acarbose people
0
Rapamycin plus acarbose nulls
0
Rapamycin people
25
Rapamycin nulls
0

Dose

No human dose established

No published study on this page has given this compound to people and reported a result.

7 animal studies, no human study

Dose

Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses

Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.

FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational

First-hand reports are counted on each profile and never added together. This page sets two published records side by side. It does not pick a winner.

Column A

Rapamycin plus acarbose

Rapamycin plus acarbose (Interventions Testing Program combination arm, RaAc)

No person has taken these two together in any study. In mice started at 9 months, typical lifespan rose 28 percent in females and 34 to 37 percent in males. That is the biggest pooled gain the NIA mouse lifespan program has published, and it worked at all three labs in both sexes. In males it beat earlier rapamycin-only runs. In females it did not.

Column B

Rapamycin

Rapamycin (Sirolimus, mTOR inhibitor)

An approved drug that blocks mTOR, a growth switch in cells. It makes many kinds of animals live longer. Some people take low, spaced-out doses for ageing, off-label. Studies in people are small.

Side by side, on the facts we can check

What we compareRapamycin plus acarboseRapamycin
CategoryLongevityLongevity
FDA statusBoth drugs are FDA-approved for other uses (sirolimus for transplant rejection and other uses; acarbose for type 2 diabetes). The combination is not approved for anything and has never been given to people in a study. The lifespan result is in mice. It was compared with each drug alone from earlier studies, not tested side by side at the same time.FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational
Half-lifeNot reported~60 hours
Molecular weightNot reported914.2 Da
How it worksRapamycin blocks mTORC1, a growth switch. Acarbose blocks gut enzymes that break down starch, so blood sugar rises less after a meal. Much of its effect on the whole body is thought to come from changing how gut bacteria ferment food. The mouse program combined them for three reasons. They work on different nutrient signals. Acarbose might offset the high blood sugar rapamycin causes in mice. And each had already worked on its own more than once. Later work linked to the program found that rapamycin, acarbose and 17-alpha-estradiol lead to some of the same changes in liver signalling. Acarbose or rapamycin, started at 4 or 16 months, each helped old mice balance on a spinning rod and shrank their enlarged hearts. Acarbose changed the fats in the heart more. None of that has been measured in a person taking both drugs. How each works in people is on its own page.It blocks the mTOR pathway. That copies part of what eating less does to cells, and it boosts cell clean-up and upkeep.
Studies in people03
EvidenceAnimal or lab only: 7 animal studies, no human studyLimited: 2 completed trials, 25 people given it
Legal status, USPrescription only, each drug separately; no approved combinationFDA-approved (for its labeled use), prescription only

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Rapamycin plus acarbose and Rapamycin?

Rapamycin plus acarbose: No person has taken these two together in any study. In mice started at 9 months, typical lifespan rose 28 percent in females and 34 to 37 percent in males. That is the biggest pooled gain the NIA mouse lifespan program has published, and it worked at all three labs in both sexes. In males it beat earlier rapamycin-only runs. In females it did not. Rapamycin: An approved drug that blocks mTOR, a growth switch in cells. It makes many kinds of animals live longer. Some people take low, spaced-out doses for ageing, off-label. Studies in people are small.

Which has stronger research evidence, Rapamycin plus acarbose or Rapamycin?

Each compound gets a band worked out from facts we counted, with the math shown. Rapamycin plus acarbose is Animal or lab only (7 animal studies, no human study). Rapamycin is Limited (2 completed trials, 25 people given it). That counts how much has been done in people. It does not rate whether either one works, and neither one is called the winner.

Are Rapamycin plus acarbose and Rapamycin FDA-approved?

Rapamycin plus acarbose: Both drugs are FDA-approved for other uses (sirolimus for transplant rejection and other uses; acarbose for type 2 diabetes). The combination is not approved for anything and has never been given to people in a study. The lifespan result is in mice. It was compared with each drug alone from earlier studies, not tested side by side at the same time.. Rapamycin: FDA-approved (Rapamune); use for longevity is off-label (not what it is approved for) and investigational.

Related posts

Blog articles that cover Rapamycin plus acarbose or Rapamycin, newest first.

Reviewed Sep 2026. This page puts two published records side by side. It is for learning, and it is not medical advice. When this site shows a dose, it is the dose a trial or a clinic actually used, or what people say they did, with the source attached. None of it tells you what to take.