Skip to content

AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Limited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 1 completed trial, 13 people given it.5 reported

The short answer

AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu is two copper peptides in one serum, sold for hair and skin.

Evidence grade for AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu: Limited. The rule: people have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. The sum on this page: 1 completed trial, 13 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
13
Human studies
1
Found nothing
1

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

1 completed trial, 13 people given it

5 effects reported, 3 unwanted, 2 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

Goal pages: Skin, hair and appearance

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

Two copper peptides in one serum, sold for hair and skin. Search the medical database for AHK-Cu and you get nothing. Not one paper. The other half has a little skin data and it is not good.

What people take it for

  • Thicker hair.
  • Firmer skin.
  • People who think the two copper peptides do different jobs.

What studies in people showed

The pair has never been tested. AHK-Cu has never been tested either, under that name, in anything. No lab work, no animals, no people. It rides on the fact that it looks like its cousin. The cousin, GHK-Cu, does have a trial. Thirteen people used it after laser skin work. Raters who did not know who got what found no real change in redness, wrinkles or skin quality. Only the patients' own scores liked it. There is also gene and cell dish work behind it, and one gel trial running now that has not reported. A 2026 review pooled 19 peptide trials and 1,341 people. The wrinkle effect was small and mostly came from peptides you swallow. One more thing. Both of these are copper peptides. So putting both in a bottle mostly means more copper peptide, not two different jobs. Brands do not agree on strengths and many print trade blend percentages, so this page will not give you a per squirt number.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • Skin feeling firmer or smoother after some weeks.
  • Less shedding, from people using it on the scalp.

The bad

  • Blue or green stains on fabric and light hair.
  • Irritation or a copper smell at higher strengths.
  • People who have used both say they cannot tell it apart from a plain GHK-Cu serum.

Where these come from: Skincare and hair loss forums and brand review pages. People talking, in areas where seasons and routine changes muddy everything.

My bottom line

Half of this bottle has never been studied by anyone. It is there because it sounds like the other half. That is not a reason to pay more.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

What people using it report

Real people telling you what happened to them. Nobody checked it, and the people who post are not a fair sample, so it cannot prove anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.

Nothing indexed yet

The 4 citations on this page do not report a result for any of the 36 goals indexed here. Most of what sits here is something else: a listing of a planned study, a study of how the body handles the drug, a safety report or a government record. None of those tests whether it works.

Show full evidence

What is AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu?

AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu is two copper peptides in one serum, sold for hair and skin. There is not one published paper on AHK-Cu under that name. So half the product has no research at all. The other half's evidence in people is a cream that failed when checkers scored it, in 13 patients. Brands do not agree on strengths, so there is no way to work out how much goes on per use.

AHK-Cu is a small three-building-block peptide bound to copper. It is a close cousin of the better known GHK-Cu. It shows up in hair serums next to GHK-Cu, on the claim that it targets hair roots while GHK-Cu targets skin. Search the medical papers for it and there is nothing under that name. No lab work, no test of whether it gets into skin, no animal study, no study in people. That is the most important sentence on this page. The ingredient is sold at peptide prices on the quiet strength of GHK-Cu's record.

GHK-Cu's record is real but small, and it points the other way from how it is used here. Thirteen patients got a skin routine with or without GHK-Cu after a laser treatment around the mouth, chosen by chance. A computer and checkers who did not know who got what found no difference in redness. There was no clear gain in wrinkles or overall skin either. Only the patients' own survey liked it better. The one listed trial of GHK-Cu is a gel on small cut wounds in an expected 60 healthy adults. It has not reported. A wider review covers the gene and cell data, which shows collagen and elastin being made and support for skin cells. All of that was on skin or in a dish.

Brands do not agree on strengths for either peptide. Many print a supplier-mix percentage instead of a peptide percentage. So this page does not give an amount per use. What we can say is that there are two copper compounds in one bottle. So the copper dose is the two added together. Copper is about 16% of GHK-Cu by weight.

The mix itself has never been studied. Two copper peptides with overlapping chemistry in one serum is closer to a bigger dose of copper peptide than to two different ways of working. It is the same point as the growth hormone blends with two drugs on one switch.

How does AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu work?

Both are small copper-bound peptides that carry copper into tissue. Both are claimed to signal skin cells and hair root cells. GHK-Cu has published gene and dish work behind those claims. AHK-Cu has no published work under that name. It is included only because it looks like a molecule that does.

What have studies in people found about AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu?

One ingredient has one small skin study that failed. The other has no research under its own name.

  • GHK-Cu: 13 patients after a laser skin treatment. Checkers who did not know who got what found no difference in redness, wrinkles or overall skin. Only the patients' own survey liked it better.
  • The one listed GHK-Cu trial is a gel on small cut wounds, and it has not reported.
  • AHK-Cu: not one published paper under that name. No lab work, no animal data and no data in people.
  • The pair: no published study and no listed trial.

What this does not tell you: Nothing in the published record lets you treat AHK-Cu as a studied ingredient. Nothing lets you assume the two copper peptides do different things in a serum.

What do people who took AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu report?

This is what real people say happened to them, good and bad. Nobody measured it. A report cannot tell a real effect from the lift people get just from expecting it to work, from a diet or training change made at the same time, or from what was really in the vial. We still put it near the top. It is the next best thing to a study in people: what happens when real people use it, including what goes wrong.

  • Skin feeling firmer or smoother after several weeks.
  • Less shedding, from people using it on the scalp.
  • Blue or green stains on fabric and light hair.
  • Irritation or a copper smell at higher strengths.
  • No difference compared with a GHK-Cu only serum. This is the most useful comparison people make, and it is not a controlled test at all.

Sources: Skincare and hair loss forums and brand review pages. Uncontrolled self-reports, in categories where seasonal variation and simultaneous routine changes are the norm.

The state of the research

This is a clean case of borrowing evidence. A molecule with a real, if small, record sits next to a look-alike molecule with none. They share a category name. And the sales copy lets the first one's record cover both. The right reading is this. The serum holds one ingredient with thin skin data in people, and one with no data at all. And the copper from both adds up.

Nothing here is dangerous on skin. The cost of being wrong is money, plus the chance you skip something with better evidence. For skin that means retinoids and sunscreen. For common pattern hair loss it means the approved scalp treatment.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

13people, across 1 study in people cited here

013 people
How many people: 13 people across 1 cited study in people, drawn as one bar split into one block per study. The largest study holds 13 of them, 100 percent of the total.
People in each cited study in people
StudyPeopleShare
Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery 200613100%

The whole total is one study of 13. Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. 1 more study in people gives no headcount and is not counted here. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

2 of 4 sources here are studies in people. The rest are not.

04 sources
  • Study in people · done in people250%
  • Review of studies · sums up other studies250%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

The studies cover 3 different years, 2006 to 2026, counted from the list of sources on this page.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Blend
Molecule weight
Not on file
Half-life
Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
Chain length
None on file

Half-life as stated on file: Not applicable to a serum left on the skin, and no penetration or clearance data exists for either component in this form.

No amino acid sequence is on file for AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu, which is expected: a blend is not built from amino acids.

Fig. 6 · what is in the vial

We cannot show how much of each is in this blend

Sellers do not agree on a vial size for AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu, so nobody outside can know how much of each ingredient is in it. Splitting the bar evenly would make up the very number this page is here to question.

  • AHK-CuAnimal or lab only. Only animal or lab studies on this page. No study in people yet. 1 animal study, 1 lab study, no human study.amount not stated
  • GHK-CuLimited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 2 completed trials, 99 people given it.amount not stated

Ingredient list from the product labels we have. Amounts are what the label says is in the vial, never a dose.

The studies we cite

  • Study in people2006
    Effects of topical copper tripeptide complex on CO2 laser-resurfaced skin

    Thirteen people put a copper peptide skin cream on after a laser skin treatment, and it did not beat the routine without it. Each person got one routine or the other by chance. A computer and checkers who did not know which face was which found no difference in redness, wrinkles or overall skin. Only the patients' own survey liked the copper peptide better. Thirteen people is a very small group. This was a cream, not a shot.

    Thirteen patients randomised after circumoral CO2 laser resurfacing to a regimen with or without GHK-Cu skin care. Computer analysis and blinded evaluators found no significant difference in resolution of redness, and objective evaluation found no significant improvement in wrinkles or overall skin quality. Only the patients' own questionnaire favoured GHK-Cu, at P = 0.04.

  • Study in people2026
    Topical GHK-Cu Gel for Acute Skin Wound Healing

    Nobody knows yet. This is the only listed trial of GHK-Cu anywhere. It started in February 2026 and has not reported anything. The plan is 60 healthy adults with two small cut wounds each. Each wound gets the copper peptide gel or the same gel with nothing in it, by chance. It is a gel on skin. It says nothing about injecting the peptide.

    A recruiting phase 2 trial, estimated 60 healthy adults, two punch-biopsy wounds each, every wound randomised to GHK-Cu gel or matching vehicle. Started February 2026 and has not reported. It is the only registered interventional trial of GHK-Cu and it is a gel on skin.

  • Review of studies2018
    Regenerative and Protective Actions of the GHK-Cu Peptide in the Light of the New Gene Data

    This review covers what the copper peptide does to genes and skin cells. In a dish and on skin, it seems to help make collagen and calm swelling. None of it was injected. None of it tells you how much to inject.

    Pickart and Margolina review the gene and cell data behind GHK-Cu: collagen and elastin synthesis, fibroblast support, anti-inflammatory signalling. All of it topical or in vitro, none of it injected, and none of it establishing a dose for an injection.

  • Review of studies2026
    Oral and topical peptides for skin aging: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials

    This review pooled 19 studies with 1,341 people. Peptides helped skin moisture and brightness. The effect on wrinkles was small, and most of it came from products taken by mouth, not creams. Results on firmness and thickness were mixed. Neither copper peptide on this page had its own study in this pooled set.

    Nineteen randomised trials, 1,341 participants. Peptides improved hydration and brightness with a modest pooled wrinkle effect of mean difference 0.27 at p = 0.04, largely driven by oral rather than topical products, and with inconsistent elasticity and density results. Neither copper tripeptide on this page is among the ingredients with an individual randomised trial in this pooled set.

Where to buy AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu

No seller we track lists AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu yet. We read sellers’ public product lists every week, and this section fills in as soon as one does. Every seller, graded

Common questions

Has AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu been tested in people?

Yes. 13 people given it across 1 completed trial cited here, 1 of which found nothing. AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu is two copper peptides in one serum, sold for hair and skin.

What is the AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu dosage?

No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 1 completed trial, 13 people given it

Is AHK-Cu with GHK-Cu FDA-approved?

Cosmetic ingredients. Not approved drugs. A claim that it regrows hair or changes the skin itself would make the product a drug.

Is there any research on AHK-Cu?

Nothing published under that name. No lab work, no animal work and no study in people. It is in serums because it looks like GHK-Cu.

What did the GHK-Cu trial actually find?

In 13 patients after a laser skin treatment, checkers who did not know who got what, and a computer, found no difference in redness, wrinkles or overall skin. Only the patients' own survey liked it better.

How much peptide is in my serum?

Brands do not agree on strengths. Many print a supplier-mix percentage instead of a peptide percentage. So this page will not give a number. If your brand does not publish the peptide strength, you cannot know the amount.

Do the two copper peptides do different things?

Nobody has tested that. They are both small copper-bound peptides. So the safer reading is that the serum holds more copper peptide, not two ways of working.

Will this stain things?

Yes, often. Copper compounds are blue-green. Stains on pillowcases and pale hair are the most steady report on any copper peptide serum.

Related compounds