Skip to content

Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Limited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 1 completed trial, 60 people given it.6 reported

The short answer

Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 is the standard three-peptide face serum.

Evidence grade for Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8: Limited. The rule: people have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. The sum on this page: 1 completed trial, 60 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
60
Human studies
1
Found nothing
1

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

1 completed trial, 60 people given it

6 effects reported, 4 unwanted, 2 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

Goal pages: Skin, hair and appearance

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

The standard three peptide face serum. One of the three has a real trial against a dummy cream. The other two have brand names. And the percentage printed on the bottle almost never means what you think it means.

What people take it for

  • Softer lines around the eyes.
  • Firmer, more hydrated skin.
  • A gentler option than injections.

What studies in people showed

Nobody has tested the three together. Argireline has been tested on its own. Sixty people were put into two groups and used it or a dummy cream around the eyes twice a day for four weeks. By eye, 48.9 percent of the drug group improved and none of the dummy group did. They also pressed silicone moulds onto the skin and measured roughness, and only the drug group got smoother. That is a real trial with a real measurement. The other two do not have one. Across the whole field, a 2026 review pooled 19 trials and 1,341 people. Peptides helped hydration and brightness. The wrinkle effect was small, and most of it came from peptides you swallow, not ones you rub on. Now the label problem. These ingredients reach the brands as watered down supplier solutions with trade names. So a bottle saying 10 percent usually means 10 percent of that watery solution, not 10 percent peptide. Most brands never say which. If yours does not say, you cannot know how much peptide is on your face.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • Skin feels smoother and more hydrated within days.
  • Fine lines around the eyes look softer after some weeks.

The bad

  • No change in deeper or set lines. This is the most common complaint.
  • Stinging or mild irritation in some people.
  • Disappointment when people compare it to a retinoid.
  • You are paying for ingredient names you cannot verify the amount of.

Where these come from: Skincare forums and brand review pages, which get a lot of paid reviews. The hydration and brightness part also shows up in the pooled trial evidence.

My bottom line

Nothing here is risky. It is money. If you want measurable change in aging skin, a retinoid and daily sunscreen have far bigger evidence than any peptide serum.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Measured in people

Goals Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.

What people using it report

Real people telling you what happened to them. Nobody checked it, and the people who post are not a fair sample, so it cannot prove anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.

35 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8

No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 and one of these did not come from a study cited here.

Show full evidence

What is Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8?

Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 is the standard three-peptide face serum. One of the three has a proper study in 60 people against a dummy cream. The other two have brand names instead of studies. The percentage on the bottle almost never describes the peptide. These ingredients are sold to makers as watered-down supplier liquids. So a serum that prints a peptide percentage usually holds only a small part of that as real peptide.

This blend sells in huge numbers, and it is where the label is least likely to mean what a buyer thinks.

Start with what has been tested. Argireline, also called acetyl hexapeptide-8, is modelled on one end of a nerve protein called SNAP-25. The claim is that it blocks the nerve signal that tightens face muscles. Sixty people were put by chance, three to one, on argireline or a dummy cream. They put it on the wrinkles around their eyes twice a day for four weeks. Judges scoring by eye rated 48.9% of the argireline group as improved overall, against 0% on the dummy cream. Silicone moulds of the skin showed roughness went down in the argireline group, and not in the dummy group. That is a real test with a measured result, in 60 people, over four weeks.

Now the other two. Matrixyl is a brand name for a supplier's mix built around palmitoyl pentapeptide-4. The Matrixyl 3000 version uses palmitoyl tripeptide-1 with palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7. SNAP-8 is acetyl octapeptide-3, sold as a longer cousin of argireline. Neither has an outside study like the one argireline has. The wider picture is thin. A 2026 review pooled 19 studies with 1,341 people. Peptides helped skin moisture and brightness. The pooled effect on wrinkles was small. And most of that wrinkle benefit came from peptides taken by mouth, not creams. Effects on firmness and thickness were mixed.

Now the math, which here is about labels, not vials. These peptides reach the makers as watered-down liquids with a brand name. The named ingredient is mostly water, glycerin and preservative. A brand that prints a percentage is usually printing the share of the supplier liquid, not of the peptide. Most brands do not say which. If a brand does not state the real peptide amount, you cannot know how much peptide goes on your face. This page will not guess. On top of that, these are big, charged molecules. They go on the skin's outer layer, whose whole job is to keep molecules like these out.

How does Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 work?

The claim for argireline is that it blocks the nerve signal that tightens face muscles. That is a cream version of what Botox does as a shot, at a small part of the strength. The palmitoyl peptides in the Matrixyl family are said to signal skin cells to make collagen. SNAP-8 is a longer peptide with the same claimed nerve-signal effect as argireline. Under all three claims sits one open question. Does any of them get through the skin's outer layer in a useful amount?

What have studies in people found about Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8?

One of the three has a proper study in people. The blend does not. Across all peptide skin products, the pooled effect on wrinkles is small, and it comes mostly from pills, not creams.

  • Peptides for skin as a whole: 19 studies, 1,341 people. A small pooled effect on wrinkles, mostly from peptides taken by mouth. Mixed results on firmness and thickness.
  • Argireline: one proper study against a dummy cream, 60 people, four weeks. It did better both on judges' scores and on measured skin roughness.
  • Matrixyl family: no outside study of the brand-name supplier mixes.
  • SNAP-8: no outside study.
  • The blend: no published study of the three together.

What this does not tell you: The argireline study ran four weeks on wrinkles around the eyes, in 60 people. Nobody has tested whether adding two more peptides does any better. And the pooled research suggests the wrinkle effect of peptide creams as a whole is small.

What do people who took Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 report?

This is what real people say happened to them, good and bad. Nobody measured it. A report cannot tell a real effect from the lift people get just from expecting it to work, from a diet or training change made at the same time, or from what was really in the vial. We still put it near the top. It is the next best thing to a study in people: what happens when real people use it, including what goes wrong.

  • Skin feeling smoother and more moist within days. That is what a moisture base does, and it is what the review found peptides do best.
  • Fine lines around the eyes looking softer after several weeks.
  • No change in deeper or set lines. This is the most common complaint.
  • Some stinging or mild irritation. People usually blame the preservative or a high peptide percentage, not the peptide itself.
  • Disappointment when compared with a retinoid, which is the usual thing people try next.

Sources: Skincare forums and brand review pages, which are unusually vulnerable to incentivised reviews. The hydration and brightness effects also appear in the pooled studies; the wrinkle reports do not match its size.

The state of the research

With this product the honest question is mostly about money, not risk. People handle a peptide face serum well. The review found very few side effects, and nothing here is dangerous. What you are buying is a small, uncertain change in how skin looks, at a price set by the ingredient names.

The label problem is the practical lesson. These peptides reach makers as watered-down liquids with brand names. So a percentage on a bottle usually refers to the supplier liquid, not the peptide. Two serums with the same percentage can differ several times over in real peptide. Most brands do not publish the number that would let you tell. If a brand does not state the peptide amount itself, no math is possible, and this page will not make one up.

One plain comparison. For skin damaged by sun and age, the ingredients with the most proof of a measurable change are retinoids and sunscreen. Neither is a peptide. Both have far more research behind them than anything on this page.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

60people, across 1 study in people cited here

060 people
How many people: 60 people across 1 cited study in people, drawn as one bar split into one block per study. The largest study holds 60 of them, 100 percent of the total.
People in each cited study in people
StudyPeopleShare
American Journal of Clinical Dermatology 201360100%

The whole total is one study of 60. Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

1 of 3 sources here is a study in people. The rest are not.

03 sources
  • Study in people · done in people133%
  • Review of studies · sums up other studies267%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

The studies cover 3 different years, 2013 to 2026, counted from the list of sources on this page.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Blend
Molecule weight
Not on file
Half-life
Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
Chain length
None on file

Half-life as stated on file: Not applicable to a serum left on the skin, and no penetration or clearance study of this combination has been published.

No amino acid sequence is on file for Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8, which is expected: a blend is not built from amino acids.

Fig. 6 · what is in the vial

We cannot show how much of each is in this blend

Sellers do not agree on a vial size for Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8, so nobody outside can know how much of each ingredient is in it. Splitting the bar evenly would make up the very number this page is here to question.

  • Acetyl hexapeptide-8 (Argireline)Moderate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 4 completed trials, 155 people given it.amount not stated
  • Palmitoyl peptides (Matrixyl)Moderate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 2 completed trials, 114 people given it.amount not stated
  • Acetyl octapeptide-3 (SNAP-8)Limited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 1 completed trial, 24 people given it.amount not stated

Ingredient list from the product labels we have. Amounts are what the label says is in the vial, never a dose.

The studies we cite

  • Study in people2013
    The anti-wrinkle efficacy of argireline, a synthetic hexapeptide, in Chinese subjects: a randomized, placebo-controlled study

    Argireline cream reduced wrinkle roughness in a small, short, four week test. 60 people were put by chance, three to one, on argireline or a dummy cream, twice a day around the eyes. Judges scoring by eye rated about half the argireline group as improved overall, and the dummy group not at all. Silicone moulds of the skin agreed. They showed a measured drop in roughness that the dummy group did not show. Sixty people, four weeks, one patch of face, and argireline on its own.

    60 subjects randomised 3 to 1 to argireline or placebo applied to peri-orbital wrinkles twice daily for four weeks. Subjective global assessment gave total anti-wrinkle efficacy of 48.9% for argireline against 0% for placebo. Objective analysis of silicone skin replicas found roughness parameters decreased in the argireline group at p < 0.01 with no significant decrease in placebo. Argireline alone, four weeks, on one facial area.

  • Review of studies2026
    Oral and topical peptides for skin aging: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials

    This review pooled 19 studies with 1,341 people. Peptides helped skin moisture and brightness. The effect on wrinkles was small, and most of it came from peptides taken by mouth, not creams. Effects on firmness and thickness were mixed. Peptides caused very few side effects.

    Nineteen randomised controlled trials covering 1,341 participants. Peptides significantly improved hydration and brightness, with a modest pooled effect on wrinkle reduction of mean difference 0.27 at p = 0.04, and subgroup analysis showed that benefit was largely driven by oral polypeptides at mean difference 1.5, p = 0.01. Effects on elasticity and density were inconsistent. Peptides were well tolerated with minimal adverse events.

  • Review of studies2018
    Regenerative and Protective Actions of the GHK-Cu Peptide in the Light of the New Gene Data

    This review covers what the copper peptide does to genes and skin cells. In a dish and on skin, it seems to help make collagen and calm swelling. None of it was injected. None of it tells you how much to inject.

    Pickart and Margolina review the gene and cell data behind GHK-Cu: collagen and elastin synthesis, fibroblast support, anti-inflammatory signalling. All of it topical or in vitro, none of it injected, and none of it establishing a dose for an injection.

Where to buy Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8

No seller we track lists Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 yet. We read sellers’ public product lists every week, and this section fills in as soon as one does. Every seller, graded

Common questions

Has Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 been tested in people?

Yes. 60 people given it across 1 completed trial cited here, 1 of which found nothing. Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 is the standard three-peptide face serum.

What is the Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 dosage?

No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 1 completed trial, 60 people given it

Is Argireline with Matrixyl and SNAP-8 FDA-approved?

Cosmetic ingredients, not drugs. In the United States, cosmetics do not need approval before they are sold. A claim that a product changes how skin is built or how it works would make it a drug claim.

Which of these three actually has a trial?

Argireline. Sixty people, put on it or a dummy cream by chance, for four weeks on wrinkles around the eyes. It did better both on judges' scores and on measured skin roughness. The other two have brand names and supplier data, not outside studies.

What does the percentage on the bottle mean?

Usually the share of a supplier's brand-name liquid, not of the peptide. Those liquids are mostly water, glycerin and preservative. So the real peptide is only a small part of the printed number. Most brands do not say which they mean.

Do peptides penetrate skin?

They are big, charged molecules, and the skin's outer layer exists to keep molecules like that out. No study has tested whether this mix gets through the skin. That is the open question under all three claims.

Is this as good as botulinum toxin?

No. Argireline is described as a cream version of the same idea, at a small part of the strength. Its study measured how lines around the eyes looked over four weeks. It is not a shot, and it does not act like one.

What has better evidence for wrinkles?

Retinoids and daily sunscreen. They have far more research behind them. Neither is a peptide.

Related compounds