Skip to content

Urolithin A dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Limited. Someone has been given it and a result was published, but fewer than 100 people. 2 completed trials, none stating how many people.4 reported

The short answer

A gut-derived compound that triggers mitophagy and has improved muscle function in older adults in human trials, one of the better-evidenced longevity supplements.

People given it
0
Human studies
2
Found nothing
1

Dose

Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses

Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.

Sold as a supplement (GRAS); not an approved drug

4 effects reported, 2 unwanted, 2 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

Urolithin A is a compound your gut can make from pomegranate and berries. Many people do not make much of it. The pill gives you the compound directly. It is a supplement.

What people take it for

  • Stronger muscles as they age.
  • Healthier mitochondria, the parts of a cell that make energy.
  • A longevity stack item with human trials.

What the trials actually showed

The first human test asked if it was safe. It was, and blood and muscle chemistry moved. A later trial in older adults ran for 4 months. Muscle endurance improved. The six minute walk did not. Peak muscle energy did not. In middle aged adults, strength rose about 12 percent. Walking distance and fitness improved too. The one measure the trial named first, peak power, did not. So the file has real human trials and they keep missing the headline measure.

What people report

Reports, not trial results

The good

  • It is one of the few longevity pills with more than one human trial.
  • People say it is easy to take.

The bad

  • It is expensive for a result that keeps missing the first named measure.
  • Eating pomegranate will not give you a reliable dose. Many guts do not make it.

Where these come from: The trial results are on this page. The price complaint is from longevity forums.

My bottom line

Better evidenced than most of this shelf. Still not a shown way to live longer.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Measured in people

Goals Urolithin A has been measured for in a human being, most people first. Counts come from the study lines on this page and deliberately undercount.

What people using it report

Uncontrolled and self-selected, so it cannot show that anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with Urolithin A, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.

33 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Urolithin A

No trial, no animal work, no cell work on this page reports a result for these. That is an absence of evidence rather than evidence of absence, but it does mean anything you have been told about Urolithin A and one of these did not come from a study cited here.

When this earns a spot

It matters as a mitochondrial and endurance research compound with human trials on muscle-related endpoints, not as a blood-marker supplement. There is no routine consumer marker that says you need it.

Bloodwork that belongs beside the bottle

Strength or endurance measures beat a panel. No required blood marker.

No required blood marker on this compound. That is stated on purpose.

Default retest window: 90 days. If the named marker did not move, stop.

  • Do not invent a 'mitophagy blood test' from a marketing PDF.

Reading the number

If performance did not change, stop. A normal metabolic panel neither proves nor kills the bottle.

What people typically order

Nothing typical on a clinical panel. Product identity still matters. Partners: /guides/supplement-partners.

Show full evidence

Overview

A gut-derived compound that triggers mitophagy and has improved muscle function in older adults in human trials, one of the better-evidenced longevity supplements.

Urolithin A is a compound the gut microbiome makes from ellagitannins found in pomegranate and berries, though many people do not produce much of it. It triggers mitophagy, the recycling of damaged mitochondria, and human trials have shown improvements in mitochondrial function and muscle endurance and strength in older adults. It is sold directly as a supplement (Mitopure) and is among the more evidence-backed longevity molecules.

Mechanism of action

Induces mitophagy, clearing damaged mitochondria and improving the quality of the cellular energy supply, especially in muscle.

Human evidence

Three human trials, all short, all on muscle and mitochondria rather than lifespan. Safety is fine. The headline function measures keep missing.

  • First-in-human 2019: sedentary older adults, safe, with blood and muscle signatures of mitochondrial change. No strength or stamina outcome.
  • Older-adult RCT 2022: 4 months. Muscle endurance and plasma markers improved. Six-minute walk and peak ATP did not differ from placebo.
  • Middle-aged RCT 2022: about 12% gain in muscle strength, with better VO2 peak and six-minute walk. The primary peak-power endpoint was not met.

What this does not tell you: No trial has asked whether urolithin A changes how long a person lives, or how they die. Missing the measure a trial names first, then hitting others, is a weaker form of evidence than hitting the one it named.

The evidence, charted

Fig. 1a · evidence scale

3human studies cited, participant count not stated

participants not stated

No participant total is drawn, because none of the human citations on this page gives one. Read the citations below for what each study measured.

Participant counts are read from the citation lines on this page. Where a line states no number, nothing is counted for it rather than estimated.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

All 3 citations here are human work.

03 citations
  • Human · given to people3100%

Counted from the citation list on this page, typed as this page types it. It understates any literature larger than the sources we cite, and a review counts once however many studies it covers.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

Citations here span just two years, 2019 and 2022.

Too few distinct publication years on this page to plot as a timeline.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four jurisdictions shown. A jurisdiction's classification is a regulatory fact, not a verdict on the science; see Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 5 · molecular identity

Modality
Supplement
Molecular weight
228.2 Da
Half-life
Stated in words, not a number

see the exact wording below

Sequence length
None on file

No amino acid sequence is on file for Urolithin A, which is expected: a supplement is not built from residues.

Key studies & citations

What users report

Self-reported experiences, not evidence. Nothing below was measured under controlled conditions, and reports like these cannot separate a real effect from placebo, from the training or diet change that accompanied it, or from what the product actually contained. They are here because knowing what people describe, including what goes wrong, is worth reading alongside the studies.

  • Discussion volume is low and the accounts diverge rather than converge, so there is no pattern here to report, only a spread.
  • The most detailed negative account describes four months of daily use of the branded powder with no change in strength, endurance or power output, and frames the spend of several hundred dollars as wasted. Another describes overwhelming fatigue while taking it. A third describes a clean lift in energy.
  • Cost is the recurring objection and is what people cite when they stop.
  • Where it appears on health forums it is usually as a posted article or conference summary rather than as anyone's experience, and the comment threads under those posts contain almost no personal use at all, which limits what can honestly be said about it.

Sources: LongeCity supplement threads reached through site-restricted search extracts because that board timed out on direct fetch from this environment, together with ExcelMale threads read directly which turned out to carry article content rather than member experience, September 2026. Nothing above is attributed to any specific post and no post is reproduced.

Frequently asked questions

Has Urolithin A been tested in people?

A gut-derived compound that triggers mitophagy and has improved muscle function in older adults in human trials, one of the better-evidenced longevity supplements. 2 completed trials, none stating how many people. 0 people given it across 2 completed trials. 1 found nothing.

What is the Urolithin A dosage?

Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses. Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose. Sold as a supplement (GRAS); not an approved drug

Is Urolithin A FDA-approved?

Sold as a supplement (GRAS); not an approved drug

Can I just eat pomegranate instead?

Only some people's gut bacteria convert pomegranate compounds into urolithin A efficiently, which is why direct supplementation is studied to ensure a consistent dose.

Compare Urolithin A with

Related compounds