Skip to content

Iron dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Preliminary. Studied in people, but no published study has given it to anyone. 1 human study where nobody was given it.

The short answer

The most important negative on the owner's stack. His ferritin is 435. High ferritin means no iron, including inside a multi. Low stores are a clinician repletion problem, not a greens-powder decision.

People given it
0
Human studies
0
Found nothing
0

Dose

No human dose established

No published study on this page has given this compound to people and reported a result.

1 human study where nobody was given it

No first-hand reports gathered yet. That is a gap in what we have collected, not a finding that nothing has been reported.

What it has been measured to do

Nothing indexed yet

The 2 citations on this page do not report a result for any of the 36 goals indexed here. Registry entries, pharmacokinetics, safety reporting and regulatory records are not outcome evidence, and most of what sits here is one of those.

When this earns a spot

This page exists so people stop taking iron by default. The owner's ferritin is 435. High ferritin is an exclusion. Low ferritin with a matching iron panel is a clinician repletion conversation, including pregnancy and bleeding. It is never a greens-powder decision.

Owner stack tier 2

Bloodwork that belongs beside the bottle

Ferritin, iron, TIBC or transferrin, saturation, CBC. hs-CRP if ferritin is high.

Default retest window: 90 days. If the named marker did not move, stop.

  • Ferritin rises with inflammation.
  • A multi can hide iron.

Reading the number

High ferritin: no bottle. Low ferritin: clinician, not a forum dose. Over 1,000 in an HFE cohort tracked with higher death risk. That is not a consumer target. It is a reason to get help.

Marker glossary: Ferritin, Iron panel.

What people typically order

Ask for the iron panel named above. Do not add an iron bottle while you wait for the result.

Show full evidence

Overview

Iron is essential, and iron overload is a disease. This page exists because the default behaviour in the supplement aisle is to take iron without a ferritin. That default is how people with high stores donate to a bottle that is working against them.

The owner's published ferritin is 435. The rule is zero iron. In a 422-person treated HFE hemochromatosis cohort, ferritin over 1,000 ug/L at diagnosis tracked with a higher risk of death from iron overload. That is not a consumer cut-off. It is a reason to get a clinician when ferritin is high.

Low ferritin with a matching iron panel and a low blood count is the opposite conversation: repletion, pregnancy, bleeding, absorption. Still not a forum dose. Still not a multi you grabbed because it said 'complete'.

Mechanism of action

Iron sits in hemoglobin, myoglobin, and iron-sulfur enzymes. Ferritin stores it. Hepcidin regulates absorption. Inflammation raises ferritin and can hide empty stores or mimic them. That is why ferritin is read with an iron panel and often with hs-CRP.

Human evidence

The human file this stub needs is the high-ferritin harm story and the clinical work-up, not a bodybuilding loading protocol.

  • High ferritin in HFE disease is how overload death risk was stratified in a 422-person treated cohort.
  • Guidelines put ferritin and saturation together. This site will not split them so a bottle looks safer.
  • The owner's 435 is published so the exclusion is concrete.

What this does not tell you: This page does not dose iron for fatigue, for 'low energy', or for training. Deficiency repletion is real and clinician-owned. A later pass can write the pregnancy and oral-versus-IV file without turning this into a how-to.

The evidence, charted

Fig. 1a · evidence scale

1human study cited, participant count not stated

participants not stated

No participant total is drawn, because none of the human citations on this page gives one. Read the citations below for what each study measured.

Participant counts are read from the citation lines on this page. Where a line states no number, nothing is counted for it rather than estimated.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

1 of 2 citations here is human work, the rest is not.

02 citations
  • Human · given to people150%
  • Review · summarises other work150%

Counted from the citation list on this page, typed as this page types it. It understates any literature larger than the sources we cite, and a review counts once however many studies it covers.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

Citations here span just two years, 2010 and 2012.

Too few distinct publication years on this page to plot as a timeline. The newest citation on file is from 2012, more than five years ago; the published record may have gone quiet.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four jurisdictions shown. A jurisdiction's classification is a regulatory fact, not a verdict on the science; see Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · dose response

No human dose response curve exists

We draw this figure where the data supports it. For this compound in humans it does not, so the panel stays empty rather than borrowing an animal curve and implying it transfers.

Awaiting a dose ranging studyProducing one takes a trial that gives different amounts to different groups and measures the difference. Nobody has funded that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · molecular identity

Modality
Supplement
Molecular weight
Not on file
Half-life
None on file
Sequence length
None on file

No amino acid sequence is on file for Iron, which is expected: a supplement is not built from residues.

Key studies & citations

Frequently asked questions

Has Iron been tested in people?

The most important negative on the owner's stack. His ferritin is 435. High ferritin means no iron, including inside a multi. Low stores are a clinician repletion problem, not a greens-powder decision. 1 human study where nobody was given it. 0 people given it across 0 completed trials. 0 found nothing.

What is the Iron dosage?

No human dose established. No published study on this page has given this compound to people and reported a result. 1 human study where nobody was given it

Is Iron FDA-approved?

Sold as a supplement and as licensed deficiency medicines. Not appropriate as a default longevity multi ingredient when ferritin is unknown or high.

My multi has iron. Is that fine?

Not if you have not seen ferritin, and not if ferritin is high. The owner's rule is zero, including greens powders.

What if ferritin is low?

Then this becomes a clinician conversation with the rest of the iron panel and a blood count. It does not become a grocery-aisle ferrous sulfate experiment.

Related compounds