Ashwagandha dosage and evidence
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
Optional on the owner's stack for stress and sleep. Randomised root-extract trials exist. Product identity is the weak point: only two of twenty-five commercial products were confirmed root-derived in one analysis cited on /supplements/quality.
- People given it
- 0
- Human studies
- 1
- Found nothing
- 0
Dose
Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses
Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose.
Sold as a dietary supplement. Not approved to treat anxiety, insomnia, or thyroid disease.
No first-hand reports gathered yet. That is a gap in what we have collected, not a finding that nothing has been reported.
What it has been measured to do
Measured in people
Goals Ashwagandha has been measured for in a human being, most people first. Counts come from the study lines on this page and deliberately undercount.
- Thyroidno headcount stated · 1 study
35 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Ashwagandha
No trial, no animal work, no cell work on this page reports a result for these. That is an absence of evidence rather than evidence of absence, but it does mean anything you have been told about Ashwagandha and one of these did not come from a study cited here.
When this earns a spot
The owner lists it as optional for stress and sleep. Trials that exist used standardised root extract. A quality analysis of commercial products found that only two of twenty-five were confirmed root-derived. Thyroid disease, pregnancy, and forthcoming surgery are clinician gates. There is no required blood marker.
Owner stack tier 3
Bloodwork that belongs beside the bottle
A thyroid panel is caution, not a start rule. Read /supplements/quality before the bottle.
Default retest window: 90 days. If the named marker did not move, stop.
- Optional morning cortisol is not a protocol.
- Product identity matters more here than on creatine.
Reading the number
If you cannot name a sleep or stress measure you will re-check, you do not have a stopping rule. Blood is optional. Label honesty is not.
What people typically order
No lab is required. If you already have thyroid disease, talk to the clinician first. Brand quality is /supplements/quality and /guides/supplement-partners.
Show full evidence
Overview
Ashwagandha is a root extract sold for stress and sleep. The owner lists it as honestly optional. The trials that exist used standardised root extracts, not a random powder.
Chandrasekhar 2012 randomised a high-concentration full-spectrum extract against placebo and reported stress-scale improvements. A 2019 randomised trial in healthy adults reported adaptogenic and anxiolytic effects on a root extract. Those are symptom trials, not longevity trials.
The quality page is load-bearing here. If the bottle is not the plant part the trials used, you did not buy the evidence. Thyroid disease, pregnancy, and upcoming surgery are clinician gates. There is no required blood marker.
Mechanism of action
Withanolides are the labelled actives in most standardised extracts. Proposed routes run through stress-axis signalling and sleep. That is marketing-adjacent mechanism until a trial names the endpoint. This stub will not invent a cortisol protocol.
Human evidence
There is randomised symptom evidence on standardised root extracts. There is not a longevity file, and the shelf often does not hold the trial material.
- Chandrasekhar 2012: stress scales on a full-spectrum root extract.
- Langade-era 2019 Cureus trial: anxiety and adaptogenic scores in healthy adults.
- Commercial product identity is a separate, worse story on /supplements/quality.
What this does not tell you: Symptom scales are not sleep architecture and not mortality. Pregnancy and thyroid disease are outside this stub. A later pass should write the thyroid-safety file rather than imply there is none.
The evidence, charted
Fig. 1a · evidence scale
2human studies cited, participant count not stated
participants not stated
No participant total is drawn, because none of the human citations on this page gives one. Read the citations below for what each study measured.
Participant counts are read from the citation lines on this page. Where a line states no number, nothing is counted for it rather than estimated.
Fig. 1b · evidence mix
All 2 citations here are human work.
- Human · given to people2100%
Counted from the citation list on this page, typed as this page types it. It understates any literature larger than the sources we cite, and a review counts once however many studies it covers.
Fig. 2 · evidence over time
Citations here span just two years, 2012 and 2019.
Too few distinct publication years on this page to plot as a timeline. The newest citation on file is from 2019, more than five years ago; the published record may have gone quiet.
Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance
US
Not approved
UK
Not approved
AU
Not approved
CA
Not approved
Not approved in any of the four jurisdictions shown. A jurisdiction's classification is a regulatory fact, not a verdict on the science; see Legal status below for the full text and any notes.
Fig. 4 · dose response
No human dose response curve exists
We draw this figure where the data supports it. For this compound in humans it does not, so the panel stays empty rather than borrowing an animal curve and implying it transfers.
Fig. 5 · molecular identity
- Modality
- Supplement
- Molecular weight
- Not on file
- Half-life
- None on file
- Sequence length
- None on file
No amino acid sequence is on file for Ashwagandha, which is expected: a supplement is not built from residues.
Key studies & citations
- Human2012A prospective, randomized double-blind, placebo-controlled study of safety and efficacy of a high-concentration full-spectrum extract of ashwagandha root in reducing stress and anxiety in adults.
Randomised full-spectrum root extract versus placebo. Reported improvements on stress scales. Symptom trial, not a longevity or thyroid-outcome trial.
- Human2019Adaptogenic and Anxiolytic Effects of Ashwagandha Root Extract in Healthy Adults: A Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-controlled Clinical Study.
Randomised root extract in healthy adults. Reported adaptogenic and anxiolytic effects. Healthy volunteers, short horizon, not a disease-outcome file.
Frequently asked questions
Has Ashwagandha been tested in people?
Optional on the owner's stack for stress and sleep. Randomised root-extract trials exist. Product identity is the weak point: only two of twenty-five commercial products were confirmed root-derived in one analysis cited on /supplements/quality. 1 completed trial, none stating how many people. 0 people given it across 1 completed trial. 0 found nothing.
What is the Ashwagandha dosage?
Approved medicine. No human dose established for unlabelled uses. Labeled amounts sit on the prescribing information. This page records what trials measured, not a personal dose. Sold as a dietary supplement. Not approved to treat anxiety, insomnia, or thyroid disease.
Is Ashwagandha FDA-approved?
Sold as a dietary supplement. Not approved to treat anxiety, insomnia, or thyroid disease.
Do I need a blood test to take this?
No required marker. If you have thyroid disease, talk to the clinician first. Product identity is the test that actually matters.
Is this on the floor list?
No. The owner lists it as optional and would drop it first.