Trontinemab dosage and evidence
Written by Aaron CuhaReviewed Sep 2026
The short answer
Trontinemab is Roche's anti-amyloid antibody with a shuttle that carries it into the brain. It cleared amyloid plaque in 91 percent of patients within seven months, with far less brain swelling than lecanemab or donanemab. Large final-stage studies started in 2025.
Evidence grade for Trontinemab: Limited. The rule: people have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. The sum on this page: 2 completed trials, none stating how many people. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.
- People given it
- 0
- Human studies
- 2
- Found nothing
- 0
Dose
No human dose established
Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.
2 completed trials, 0 people given it
2 effects reported, 1 unwanted, 1 wanted, by people using it, not a trial
In plain English
In plain English, from Aaron
This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.
Trontinemab is an Alzheimer's antibody from Roche. It clears amyloid plaque from the brain. It carries a shuttle that ferries it into the brain, so low doses work. It is not approved.
What people take it for
- Slowing early Alzheimer's.
- Clearing plaque with less brain swelling than similar drugs.
What studies in people showed
In an early study, 91 percent of people on the higher dose had no plaque left on brain scans after 28 weeks. Fewer than 5 percent had brain swelling, a known side effect of this drug family. Clearing plaque is not the same as thinking better. That early study did not measure memory. Large final-stage studies began in 2025. They will judge memory and daily life after 18 months.
What people report
Reports, not study results
The good
- In the study on this page, plaque cleared in most people within about seven months.
The bad
- Fewer than 5 percent had brain swelling in the study on this page.
Where these come from: Both lines are from the studies and the Roche release on this page. We have not collected forum or user reports for this drug yet.
My bottom line
A clean scan is not a better memory. Wait for the 18-month results on memory. That is the number that counts.
An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.
What it has been measured to do
Nothing indexed yet
The 3 citations on this page do not report a result for any of the 36 goals indexed here. Most of what sits here is something else: a listing of a planned study, a study of how the body handles the drug, a safety report or a government record. None of those tests whether it works.
Show full evidence
What is Trontinemab?
Trontinemab is Roche's anti-amyloid antibody with a shuttle that carries it into the brain. It cleared amyloid plaque in 91 percent of patients within seven months, with far less brain swelling than lecanemab or donanemab. Large final-stage studies started in 2025.
Trontinemab joins the antibody gantenerumab to a part that grabs the transferrin receptor. That receptor ferries the drug across the barrier into the brain, so much lower doses work. In an early study, 3.6 mg/kg cleared amyloid from brain scans in 91 percent of people by 28 weeks. Fewer than 5 percent had brain swelling, a known side effect of this drug family called ARIA-E. Two large final-stage studies, TRONTIER 1 and 2, began in September 2025. They judge the drug on memory and daily life after 18 months. A prevention study was announced in 2026.
How does Trontinemab work?
It is an antibody against amyloid beta, built to hitch a ride across the blood-brain barrier. That lets it clear plaque quickly at low doses.
The evidence, in charts
Fig. 1a · how many people
3studies in people cited, but none says how many people took part
number of people not stated
We do not draw a total, because none of the studies in people on this page gives one. Read the sources below for what each study measured.
We read the number of people from the source lines on this page. Where a line gives no number, we count nothing for it. We do not guess.
Fig. 1b · evidence mix
All 3 sources here are studies in people.
- Study in people · done in people3100%
Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.
Fig. 2 · evidence over time
Every source here was published in 2025.
Too few different years on this page to draw a timeline.
Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance
US
Not approved
UK
Not approved
AU
Not approved
CA
Not approved
Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.
Fig. 4 · how much does what
Nobody has tested different amounts in people
This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.
Fig. 5 · what the molecule is
- Kind of compound
- Biologic
- Molecule weight
- 194,407 Da (Brainshuttle antibody fusion)
- Half-life
- Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
- Chain length
- None on file
Half-life as stated on file: Not established (antibody; monthly then quarterly intravenous dosing)
No amino acid sequence is on file for Trontinemab, so none is drawn rather than guessed from a name.
The studies we cite
- Study in people2025TRONTIER 1: trontinemab in early Alzheimer's disease
This trial is running and has published nothing. It is the large final-stage test of trontinemab in early Alzheimer's disease, judged after 18 months on a standard scale that rates memory, judgement and everyday coping. That is the measure that matters: whether people think and function better, not whether their brain scans look cleaner. No results have been reported.
Phase 3 with 18-month CDR-SB primary endpoint.
- Study in people2025Trontinemab Phase 1b/2a results
Amyloid plaque cleared fast, in most people, with little of the brain swelling that troubles this drug class. After 28 weeks on the higher dose, 91% of participants no longer had detectable plaque on a brain scan. Fewer than 5% had the brain swelling seen with lecanemab and donanemab. Here is the limit. Clearing plaque is not the same as thinking better, and this early study was not built to measure memory.
91% amyloid negativity at 28 weeks; ARIA-E under 5%.
- Study in people2025Roche presents trontinemab data at AAIC
Roche presented the same plaque-clearing result at a conference, and it is still a brain scan result. Conference presentations are summaries rather than full papers, and nobody outside the company has reviewed the data behind this one. Plaque clearance is a marker, not a symptom. Whether trontinemab slows the disease is the question the large trials were started to answer, and they had not reported.
Rapid, deep amyloid clearance with favorable safety.
Common questions
Has Trontinemab been tested in people?
Yes. 0 people given it across 2 completed trials cited here, 0 of which found nothing. Trontinemab is Roche's anti-amyloid antibody with a shuttle that carries it into the brain. It cleared amyloid plaque in 91 percent of patients within seven months, with far less brain swelling than lecanemab or donanemab. Large final-stage studies started in 2025.
What is the Trontinemab dosage?
No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 2 completed trials, 0 people given it
Is Trontinemab FDA-approved?
Investigational; in final-stage studies
How is trontinemab different from lecanemab?
Both remove amyloid. Trontinemab's shuttle gets it into the brain far more easily. So far it clears plaque faster at lower doses, with much less of the brain swelling and bleeding, called ARIA, seen with lecanemab.