Skip to content

AZD6234 dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Limited. People have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. 1 completed trial, none stating how many people.1 reported

The short answer

AZD6234 is AstraZeneca's weekly amylin shot. It jumped to large final-stage studies in 2026, alone and added to GLP-1 drugs. Its mid-stage weight numbers have not been published.

Evidence grade for AZD6234: Limited. The rule: people have taken it in a published study, but fewer than 100 of them. The sum on this page: 1 completed trial, none stating how many people. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
0
Human studies
1
Found nothing
0

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

1 completed trial, 0 people given it

1 effects reported, 1 unwanted, by people using it, not a trial

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

AZD6234 is a weekly shot from AstraZeneca. It copies amylin, a hormone that makes you feel full. It is in large final-stage studies, alone and with GLP-1 drugs. It is not approved.

What people take it for

  • Weight loss through a different route than Ozempic.
  • Adding to a GLP-1 drug for more weight loss.

What studies in people showed

There are no published results in people. AstraZeneca moved it into large final-stage studies without publishing how much weight it took off in earlier testing. A mid-stage study pairs it with a GLP-1 drug. Nothing has been reported. The public cannot judge how well it works.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • We have not collected user reports on this one yet.

The bad

  • No results or side effect data have been published yet.

Where these come from: Everything here is from the study records on this page. There are no user reports.

My bottom line

No public numbers means no opinion from me. Wait.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Nothing indexed yet

The 2 citations on this page do not report a result for any of the 36 goals indexed here. Most of what sits here is something else: a listing of a planned study, a study of how the body handles the drug, a safety report or a government record. None of those tests whether it works.

Show full evidence

What is AZD6234?

AZD6234 is AstraZeneca's weekly amylin shot. It jumped to large final-stage studies in 2026, alone and added to GLP-1 drugs. Its mid-stage weight numbers have not been published.

AZD6234 is a once a week shot that copies amylin, a hormone that makes you feel full and slows how fast food leaves the stomach. In 2026 AstraZeneca registered several large final-stage studies in obesity, with and without type 2 diabetes. One adds it to a GLP-1 type drug. A mid-stage study tests the amylin and GLP-1 pair directly. The large study was registered before any mid-stage weight results were published. So the public has very little data on how well it works, and it is listed here for how far along it is, not for proven results. Drug makers like amylin because it adds weight loss through a route other than GLP-1, with different side effects. It can work alone or on top of GLP-1 drugs.

How does AZD6234 work?

It turns on amylin receptors for a long time. That makes you feel full and slows how fast food leaves the stomach.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

2studies in people cited, but none says how many people took part

number of people not stated

We do not draw a total, because none of the studies in people on this page gives one. Read the sources below for what each study measured.

We read the number of people from the source lines on this page. Where a line gives no number, we count nothing for it. We do not guess.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

All 2 sources here are studies in people.

02 sources
  • Study in people · done in people2100%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

Sources here come from just two years, 2025 and 2026.

Too few different years on this page to draw a timeline.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Peptide
Molecule weight
Not disclosed
Half-life
Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
Chain length
None on file

No amino acid sequence is on file for AZD6234, so none is drawn rather than guessed from a name.

The studies we cite

  • Study in people2026
    AZD6234 Phase 3 in adults with obesity

    A large final-stage trial has been registered and nothing has been published beneath it. AstraZeneca put AZD6234 into the trials that decide approval without publishing how much weight it took off in mid-stage testing. The company has seen numbers the public has not. Nobody outside AstraZeneca can judge how well this drug works. Read its presence here as a statement about how far along it is, not about whether it works.

    Pivotal trial registered without published Phase 2 efficacy detail.

  • Study in people2025
    AZD6234 as add-on to incretin therapy (Phase 2)

    This trial is running and has published nothing. It puts AZD6234 alongside a GLP-1 drug to see whether the two together beat the GLP-1 drug alone. They work through different routes, which is the reason to try the pair. Whether that pays off in people has not been reported.

    Tests the amylin plus GLP-1 combination.

Where to buy AZD6234

No seller we track lists AZD6234 yet. We read sellers’ public product lists every week, and this section fills in as soon as one does. Every seller, graded

Common questions

Has AZD6234 been tested in people?

Yes. 0 people given it across 1 completed trial cited here, 0 of which found nothing. AZD6234 is AstraZeneca's weekly amylin shot. It jumped to large final-stage studies in 2026, alone and added to GLP-1 drugs. Its mid-stage weight numbers have not been published.

What is the AZD6234 dosage?

No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 1 completed trial, 0 people given it

Is AZD6234 FDA-approved?

Investigational; in final-stage studies

Why are so many companies building amylin drugs?

Amylin adds weight loss through a route other than GLP-1, with different side effects. That makes it useful both alone and on top of GLP-1 drugs.

Latest reading on AZD6234

Blog posts about AZD6234, newest first.

Related compounds