Skip to content

Thymalin with epitalon dosage and evidence

Written by Reviewed Sep 2026

Strong. At least two finished studies in people, and at least 1,000 people who took it. 2 completed trials, 1,106 people given it.7 reported

The short answer

Thymalin with epitalon is a pairing that was actually studied as a pair.

Evidence grade for Thymalin with epitalon: Strong. The rule: at least two finished studies in people, and at least 1,000 people who took it. The sum on this page: 2 completed trials, 1,106 people given it. A grade counts how much has been done to people, not whether it works.

People given it
1,106
Human studies
2
Found nothing
1

Dose

No human dose established

Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose.

2 completed trials, 1,106 people given it

7 effects reported, 4 unwanted, 3 wanted, by people using it, not a trial

Goal pages: Ageing and longevity, Heart and circulation, Immune system and inflammation, Bone and joints

In plain English

In plain English, from Aaron

This is how I would explain it to a friend. The evidence, with the numbers, is further down the page.

This is the one blend on this site with a real study of the combination itself, and the numbers are enormous. Everyone also knew who got what. It is from one Russian group, never repeated, and the pineal ingredient in the study is not the one sold today.

What people take it for

  • Living longer.
  • Getting sick less often.
  • Immune function in older age.
  • Sleep and body clock.

What studies in people showed

The study followed 266 older people for six to eight years. They got the two peptides during the first two or three years. Colds and chest infections dropped by 2.0 to 2.4 times. Deaths dropped 2.0 to 2.1 times in the thymus peptide group, 1.6 to 1.8 times in the pineal group, and 2.5 times in the group that got both. A separate group who got both every year for six years had a death rate 4.1 times lower than the control group. If those numbers held up, this would be the biggest result on this whole site. Here is why nobody treats it that way. One research group ran it. There is no sign that people were put into groups by chance, or that anyone was kept from knowing who got what. How the control group was picked is not described. And in more than twenty years, no other group anywhere has tried to repeat it. A drop in deaths that big from a two year course of shots would be without parallel in medicine for older people. Then there is the swap. The study used epithalamin, which is an extract of pineal gland tissue. What is sold today is epitalon, a lab made four amino acid chain. They are not the same substance. For scale, a proper trial of a defined thymus peptide in 1,106 people with sepsis found deaths of 23.4 percent against 24.1 percent on the dummy.

What people report

Reports, not study results

The good

  • Better sleep, credited to the pineal peptide.
  • Fewer colds over a winter, credited to the thymus peptide.
  • A general sense of feeling well during a course.

The bad

  • Nothing measurable, which is what most people find when they check bloodwork before and after.
  • Sore shot sites.
  • You cannot check the claimed benefit yourself. The study measured death rates over years.
  • These are tissue extracts, not single defined molecules, so batches are not guaranteed to match.

Where these come from: Longevity and peptide forums and seller pages. People talking, about an outcome no individual can judge in themselves.

My bottom line

I am not dismissing it and I am not buying it. Somebody did study the combination, which is more than any other blend here can say. But the way they studied it does not support the size of the claim. If you are buying epitalon because of those numbers, you are buying a different substance from the one in the study.

An opinion, not a finding. I am a coach, not a doctor.

What it has been measured to do

Measured in people

Goals Thymalin with epitalon has been tested for in people, biggest studies first. We count only what the studies on this page say, so the real numbers may be higher.

What people using it report

Real people telling you what happened to them. Nobody checked it, and the people who post are not a fair sample, so it cannot prove anything works. It is still the best guide on this page to what people actually do with Thymalin with epitalon, what they expect, and what goes wrong. The full account, including the negative reports, is below.

32 of the 36 indexed goals have no study of any kind behind Thymalin with epitalon

No study in people, animals or cells on this page reports a result for these. That does not prove Thymalin with epitalon does nothing for them. It does mean anything you have heard about Thymalin with epitalon and one of these did not come from a study cited here.

Show full evidence

What is Thymalin with epitalon?

Thymalin with epitalon is a pairing that was actually studied as a pair. 266 older people were followed for six to eight years on thymalin and epithalamin. The group given both was reported to die at a 2.5 times lower rate than the comparison group. A group treated every year for six years was reported at 4.1 times lower. But the paper does not say people were picked by chance or kept unaware of their treatment. It came from one research group and has never been repeated. And the pineal ingredient in it was a gland extract, not the lab-made peptide sold today.

This page has to do something unusual. It reports an amazing claim from a real study of the pair, then explains exactly why it is not settled.

The study. Researchers at two ageing institutes, in St Petersburg and Kiev, tested thymalin and epithalamin. These are peptide extracts from the thymus and the pineal gland. They followed 266 older people for six to eight years. The extracts were given during the first two to three years. Chest and airway infections fell 2.0 to 2.4 times. Heart disease from narrowed arteries, high blood pressure, joint wear and thinning bones were all reported as less common than in the comparison group. Death rates fell 2.0 to 2.1 times in the thymalin group, 1.6 to 1.8 times in the epithalamin group, and 2.5 times in the group given both. A separate group given both every year for six years had a death rate 4.1 times lower than the comparison group.

If those numbers held up, they would be a huge result. Here is why they are not treated that way.

The report comes from a single research group, in a journal it has used a lot for its own work. The paper does not say people were kept unaware of their treatment, or put into groups by chance. It does not explain how the comparison group was chosen in a way that rules out healthier people getting the treatment. No outside group anywhere has tried to repeat it in the twenty years since. And cutting deaths that much with two to three years of shots would be unheard of in medicine for older people. That is a reason to look harder, not less hard.

What was in the vial is a separate and important problem. The study used epithalamin, a peptide extract of the pineal gland. What is sold today as epitalon is a lab-made peptide four building blocks long, made later as one defined molecule. They are not the same thing. Someone buying epitalon because of the epithalamin result has swapped one thing for another. Thymalin is also a thymus extract, not one defined peptide.

For comparison, here is what a modern study of a thymus peptide looks like. Thymosin alpha-1 is a defined thymus peptide, 28 building blocks long. It was tested in 1,106 adults with sepsis, a life-threatening blood infection. It was a large, final-stage study against a dummy shot, where neither patients nor staff knew who got what. At 28 days, 23.4% had died on the drug, against 24.1% on the dummy.

How does Thymalin with epitalon work?

Thymalin is a mix of peptides taken from calf thymus. It is claimed to restore the immune function that depends on the thymus. Epithalamin is a peptide extract of the pineal gland. Epitalon is the lab-made four building block peptide that came out of that same programme. It is claimed to act on the pineal gland, the daily rhythm of the sleep hormone melatonin, and the enzyme that rebuilds the caps on the ends of chromosomes. Most of the research on how these work comes from the programme that created them. A 2025 review sums up the epitalon claims from cell and animal work, not from proper studies in people.

What have studies in people found about Thymalin with epitalon?

There is a real study of the pair with amazing numbers. It came from one group, does not describe keeping anyone unaware of their treatment, has never been repeated, and used a pineal extract, not the lab-made peptide sold today.

  • The pair: studied in 266 older people over six to eight years. That makes it one of the few blends with its own study of the mix.
  • A reported 2.5 times lower death rate with both peptides, and 4.1 times lower in a group given both every year for six years.
  • A reported 2.0 to 2.4 times drop in chest and airway infections.
  • The paper does not describe keeping people unaware of their treatment or putting them into groups by chance. It does not explain how the comparison group was built.
  • No outside group has repeated it in the twenty years since it came out.
  • The pineal ingredient was epithalamin, a gland extract. It was not the lab-made peptide epitalon sold today.

What this does not tell you: A single-group report, where people seem to have known their treatment, of deaths halving after a short course of shots needs to be repeated by others before anyone can treat it as a finding. That nobody has even tried is the most important missing piece.

What do people who took Thymalin with epitalon report?

This is what real people say happened to them, good and bad. Nobody measured it. A report cannot tell a real effect from the lift people get just from expecting it to work, from a diet or training change made at the same time, or from what was really in the vial. We still put it near the top. It is the next best thing to a study in people: what happens when real people use it, including what goes wrong.

  • Better sleep, which people credit to the pineal peptide.
  • Fewer colds over a winter, which people credit to the thymus peptide.
  • A general sense of feeling well during a course.
  • Nothing measurable. That is the usual result for anyone who checks blood work before and after.
  • Soreness where the shot goes in.

Sources: Longevity and peptide forums including r/peptides, and vendor pages. Uncontrolled self-reports on outcomes that cannot be assessed by an individual over a short period, since the original study's claim was about dying.

The state of the research

The right stance here is neither to wave it away nor to accept it. The pair was studied, over a long time, and deaths were counted. That is more than most blends can say. But what the paper describes about how it was done does not support how strong the conclusion is. And nobody in the field has tried to check it.

The swap is what most buyers get wrong. The study on deaths used epithalamin, a peptide extract of pineal tissue. What is sold as epitalon is a lab-made four building block peptide made later. Someone buying epitalon because of the 2003 death figures has bought a different thing from the one in the study. Nobody has shown the two act alike.

The contrast with thymosin alpha-1 is the cleanest measuring stick there is. A defined thymus peptide, with a drug company behind it, went into a study of 1,106 patients against a dummy shot, where nobody knew who got what. Deaths came out the same in both groups. That is how a thymus peptide does when the study design strips out the things that make loose studies look better than they are.

The evidence, in charts

Fig. 1a · how many people

1,106people, across 1 study in people cited here

01,106 people
How many people: 1,106 people across 1 cited study in people, drawn as one bar split into one block per study. The largest study holds 1,106 of them, 100 percent of the total.
People in each cited study in people
StudyPeopleShare
TESTS, BMJ 20251,106100%

The whole total is one study of 1,106. Counts are the number of people each study on this page says it signed up. That includes studies that only watched people and gave nobody the compound. 1 more study in people gives no headcount and is not counted here. Studies still signing people up are left out, and only studies cited on this page are counted.

Fig. 1b · evidence mix

2 of 3 sources here are studies in people. The rest is not.

03 sources
  • Study in people · done in people267%
  • Review of studies · sums up other studies133%

Counted from the list of sources on this page. It counts only what we cite, so there may be more studies out there. A review counts once, however many studies it sums up.

Fig. 2 · evidence over time

Sources here come from just two years, 2003 and 2025.

Too few different years on this page to draw a timeline.

Fig. 3 · legal status at a glance

Not approved in any of the four countries shown. This is what the law says, not a verdict on the science. See Legal status below for the full text and any notes.

Fig. 4 · how much does what

Nobody has tested different amounts in people

This chart would show how the effect changes as the amount goes up. For this compound, nobody has measured that in people. So we leave it empty. We will not borrow an animal chart and pretend it works the same in people.

Waiting on a study nobody has runMaking one takes a study that gives different amounts to different groups of people and compares them. Nobody has paid for that for this compound.

Fig. 5 · what the molecule is

Kind of compound
Blend
Molecule weight
Not on file
Half-life
Stated in words, not a numbersee the exact wording below
Chain length
None on file

Half-life as stated on file: Not defined. No pharmacokinetic study of either preparation has been published in a Western journal.

No amino acid sequence is on file for Thymalin with epitalon, which is expected: a blend is not built from amino acids.

Fig. 6 · what is in the vial

We cannot show how much of each is in this blend

Sellers do not agree on a vial size for Thymalin with epitalon, so nobody outside can know how much of each ingredient is in it. Splitting the bar evenly would make up the very number this page is here to question.

  • ThymalinModerate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 4 completed trials, 308 people given it.amount not stated
  • EpitalonModerate. At least one finished study in people, and at least 100 people who took it. 5 completed trials, 266 people given it.amount not stated

Ingredient list from the product labels we have. Amounts are what the label says is in the vial, never a dose.

The studies we cite

  • Study in people2003
    Peptides of pineal gland and thymus prolong human life

    This is the study the thymalin story rests on, and it is not built to carry that weight. 266 older people were followed for six to eight years, and given thymalin and epithalamin in the first two or three. Infections and deaths were reported at about half the rate of a comparison group, and several age-related diseases as less common. The problem is this. The paper does not say anyone was grouped by chance or kept unaware of their treatment. And no other team has repeated it.

    266 elderly and older persons assessed over six to eight years, with thymalin and epithalamin applied during the first two to three years. Acute respiratory disease incidence fell 2.0 to 2.4-fold, with reduced clinical ischaemic heart disease, hypertension, deforming osteoarthrosis and osteoporosis against control. Mortality fell 2.0 to 2.1-fold with thymalin, 1.6 to 1.8-fold with epithalamin and 2.5-fold with both, and a separate group treated with both annually for six years had a 4.1-fold lower mortality rate. Single group, no described blinding or randomisation, never replicated.

  • Study in people2025
    The efficacy and safety of thymosin α1 for sepsis (TESTS): multicentre, double blinded, randomised, placebo controlled, phase 3 trial

    A defined thymus peptide was put through a modern study, and it failed. Just over a thousand people seriously ill with sepsis got either thymosin alpha-1 or a dummy shot, and nobody involved knew which. A month later, the same share had died in each group. It is on this page as a contrast. When a thymus peptide is finally tested at full size under modern rules, the answer can come back empty, and this one did.

    1,106 adults with sepsis, 22 centres, double blinded and placebo controlled. 28 day all cause mortality was 23.4% on thymosin alpha-1 and 24.1% on placebo, hazard ratio 0.99, p = 0.93. Included here as the contrast: this is what a defined thymic peptide looks like when tested under modern conditions, and the result was null.

  • Review of studies2025
    Overview of Epitalon-Highly Bioactive Pineal Tetrapeptide with Promising Properties

    This is a review of the claims made for epitalon, a lab-made four building block peptide linked to the pineal gland. It draws on cell and animal work and on Russian bioregulator research. It describes the lab-made peptide. That is a different thing from epithalamin, the pineal gland extract used in the 2003 study on deaths.

    A review of the claimed properties of the synthetic pineal tetrapeptide epitalon, drawing on cell and animal work and the Russian bioregulator literature. It describes a tetrapeptide, which is a different substance from the pineal gland extract epithalamin used in the 2003 mortality study.

Where to buy Thymalin with epitalon

No seller we track lists Thymalin with epitalon yet. We read sellers’ public product lists every week, and this section fills in as soon as one does. Every seller, graded

Common questions

Has Thymalin with epitalon been tested in people?

Yes. 1,106 people given it across 2 completed trials cited here, 1 of which found nothing. Thymalin with epitalon is a pairing that was actually studied as a pair.

What is the Thymalin with epitalon dosage?

No human dose established. Amounts that were given in studies sit in Human evidence on this page. None of them is a personal dose. 2 completed trials, 1,106 people given it

Is Thymalin with epitalon FDA-approved?

Neither is approved in the United States. Both are made and used in Russia, as part of its peptide bioregulator programme. Elsewhere they are sold as research chemicals.

Was this combination actually studied?

Yes, which makes it unusual. 266 older people were followed for six to eight years. The group given both peptides was reported to die at a 2.5 times lower rate than the comparison group. A group treated every year for six years was reported at 4.1 times lower.

Should I believe those numbers?

Not until someone repeats them. The report comes from a single research group. It does not describe keeping people unaware of their treatment or putting them into groups by chance. It does not explain how the comparison group was chosen. And nobody outside has repeated it in twenty years. Cutting deaths in half with a short course of shots would be unheard of in medicine for older people.

Is epitalon the same as epithalamin?

No. The study used epithalamin, a peptide extract of the pineal gland. Epitalon is a lab-made four building block peptide made later. Buying epitalon because of that study means swapping one thing for another.

What happens when a thymic peptide is tested properly?

The most recent try was thymosin alpha-1 in 1,106 adults with sepsis, against a dummy shot, with nobody knowing who got what. At 28 days, 23.4% had died on the drug, against 24.1% on the dummy. That is no real difference.

Are these single molecules?

No. Thymalin and epithalamin are peptide extracts of thymus and pineal tissue, not single defined peptides. That is part of why the results are hard to repeat. It is also part of why nobody has shown one batch matches the next.

Related compounds